We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Farm to Table done right, amazing attention to detail”
Review of Stoneacre Pantry

Stoneacre Pantry
Ranked #21 of 234 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $48
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Greetings From Stoneacre Pantry, It is with great excitement that we share news of Stoneacre Pantry closing its doors at 515 Thames St on January 1, 2017 and reopening in the summer of 2017, in Historic Washington Sq. We would like to thank all of our supporters and friends for the past 3 years of patronage and would like to offer a big Happy New Year to all of you. Please stay tuned for further details about Stoneacre and all other happenings. Thank You Again, we look forward to a big new year! In other news we will be opening La Vasca, at 515 Thames St in Newport, mid January. La Vasca is Basque style wine bar (beer and wine) offering Pintxos, Tapas, hot and cold appetizers and a selection of entrees including Paella, whole roasted fish and beef. We will follow the same sourcing and sustainability practices we have focused on at Stoneacre. As always we will be accommodating to guest restrictions, allergies and dislikes to the best of our ability. La Vasca will take limited reservations.
Middletown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Farm to Table done right, amazing attention to detail”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Could not have been more satisfied with our experience at Stoneacre Pantry. Food, service and drinks all top-notch. The place is so quaint with their fleur de lis water glasses, toile pillows, delicately painted sugar caddies and other country accent pieces. The lunch and dinner menu is always changing depending on the season so we are excited to return to try it again. The fresh ingredients are the stand out here, and there are so many house-made options such as an irish cream (phenomenal) and bloody mix (from fresh tomatoes!)--really impressive. The cocktail list is innovative and they use all high-quality spirits and liqueurs, of course along with natural and fresh ingredients, which we love. Cannot wait to go back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    42
    13
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We considered some of the other top rated restaurants down this street but nothing stood out for us until Stoneacre. We didn't have a reservation but they were able to fit us in at the bar within 45 minutes. We didnt' regret the wait. Loved the cocktails and the wine recommendation was spot-on and unusual. We had the rillettes and chickpea soup -- surprising flavors that were delicious. Roast duck on farro was very good. Our favorite part of dinner was talking with the owners and staff -- they really care about the food and our dining experience. Will definitely come again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
196 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Creative food, great cocktail, farm to table theme”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

I loved the food. Loved it. Started with Vanilla Manhattan cocktail (bourbon, vanilla beans, orange bitters) which was excellent. Then Kale salad. Then scallops with side of wild mushrooms. Then a chocolate salted caramel dessert. The dessert was exceptional, don't miss it. Food was fresh, "farm to table" and perfect. I was not thrilled with the layout, the chairs look cool and modern but not very comfortable. And it was quite loud. But I can easily overlook that as food was so good.

Helpful?
1 Thank ACMC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“may not last through the off season”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Cannot understand the positive reviews. The portions were really small. The main course one of us ordered looked like an appetizer. Also, the fish I got was really salty. Four of us left the restaurant pretty hungry. The prices were very high (and included a big corkage fee). The owner tried to tout local ingredients, but did not name any RI farms. They'll need to make some changes to bring in customers during the off season.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank venividiboggli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A generation thing.”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is a thoroughly over-rated eating place. The food is mediocre and expensive, the wine list limited and much too pricey. But the crowning disadvantage is that the acoustic and the loud music combine completely to prevent conversation so a huge element in social dining is denied one. We complained to the owner who said "we like the music, it attracts a young crowd, it is a generation thing.". We over sixties were clearly not wanted.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stoneacre Pantry also viewed

 

Been to Stoneacre Pantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing