We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Attwater
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Viking(Newport)(Great Value!)
$305
$297
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mill Street Inn(Newport)(Great Value!)
$399
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$499
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$385
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$349
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Newport Bay Club & Hotel(Newport)(Great Value!)
$329
$319
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$535
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chanler at Cliff Walk(Newport)
$550
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina(Newport)(Great Value!)
$329
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveler rating
306
100
20
7
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
306
100
20
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsking suiteboutique hotelapple tvsconessmall platesoatsart museumlovely boutiqueno elevatormy husband and ithe main hoteltop floorloved this hotelshort walkoutdoor deckthird floorwould definitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
296 - 301 of 441 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2013

The Attwater has been our choice to stay in Newport on multiple occasions. This modern B&B/hotel is our go-to any time we visit Newport. The building has historic charm but with very updated and colorful interior design. Meg and Brad are great hosts providing unbelievable service and recommendations for things to do. They live on the property and are able to fill any need that one has. The breakfast is home cooked and changes daily. Great way to start off your day. We found Attwater through a review that was written on Jettsetter.com and keep coming back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ray30a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for keep coming back! Your comments mean the world and we are so pleased that you love the decor and the incredible service from Brad and Megan. Mark your calendars for May - as our new Urban Beach House next door will be opening - a fun, new addition to The Attwater! Again, your loyalty means a lot and we greatly appreciate your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I chose The Attwater for a last-minute, long-weekend mini-break with family based on its glowing Trip Advisor ratings, and it certainly did not disappoint. Don't let a somewhat underwhelming exterior fool you. Once thru the doors of this totally transformed former beer haus (check out the landing when you walk in), this boutique hotel's bright & hip furnishings simply scream 'relax and enjoy'! Brad (the perfect host) warmly welcomed us and carried all of our luggage up 2 flights to the top floor -- which was so, so quiet! We had nabbed the last room (a King Suite), perfect for 3 adults with a separate bedroom & sitting room w/sleeper sofa and gas fireplace. The lovely scent of fresh baking greeted us every morning - breakfast was delicious coffee, fresh fruit, and the yummiest scones (the pumpkin were completely other-wordly) and afternoon (amazing cookies). The location was ideal -- we completely avoided the craziness of Oktoberfest and the cruise boat crowds, enjoying quick access to Cliff Walk and Spring Street shopping (but not to worry, the Cooke House is easily walkable as well). Can't recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HollyGoesLightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

The Attwater has had many lives (beer haus included!) and we think we've finally landed on the right one! What a wonderful way to describe the experience of walking through our door. We are so pleased that you had such a lovely time and that the spaciousness of our suites and the beauty of our bold, chic decor made such an impression on you. Brad and Meg certainly are great hosts (and bakers, as you pointed out), and it means a lot to us that you enjoyed their hospitality so much. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

My wife and I loved the Attwater. Extremely clean through and through and the breakfast was a delight. For a quaint hotel they have superb technology available, each guest is given an iPad to use during their stay which is extremely helpful for planning day trips, dinners, etc. Definitely a great place and a great location for visiting all of the local sights. The piers and restaurants are a short walk away and the mansion tours are less than a five minute drive.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

We are so glad that you loved The Attwater. It was a pleasure to have you visit and we are pleased that you enjoyed our high-tech amenities, delightful breakfast and our central Newport RI location. We hope to see you back here again soon to experience our expansion. Look for our new suites opening in May 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I have stayed at the Attwater just for one night but have very much enjoyed my stay. The hotel is nice and modern, and very well located. There's plenty of parking space and most of the attractions and restaurnats are just a short walk away. Complementary ipads at the check-in are also a nice touch.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael_M_Moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your kind words about our modern style and amenities, and are so pleased that you enjoyed our central location to top Newport attractions and dining options. We hope that you'll be able to stay a bit longer next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Talk about a jewel box, this hotel is one of the prettiest hotels we've ever stayed in. From the moment you walk through the doors you just start to smile. You feel like you're walking into a beautiful home and not a hotel. Check-in is in the cafe where they have coffee, tea and homemade pastries waiting for you. Meg who is an absolute delight answered any questions we had and gave us an iPad to use during our stay. It's already programmed with local restaurant and their menus, the different sites to see around Newport and other useful information. Our room was very bright, cheerful, beautifully decorated and very clean. This is one hotel I can't wait to go back to again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skifan_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

We're blushing! It's a great compliment to be called the "one of the prettiest hotels" you've stayed in. Thank you so much for your review and thoughts about our afternoon pastries, welcoming service and useful iPads. We love it when guests use our high-tech amenities. Please do come back and stay with us again the next time you need a getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews