We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Domino interiors, amazing bakeress!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Attwater

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Attwater
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Domino interiors, amazing bakeress!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

I chose The Attwater for a last-minute, long-weekend mini-break with family based on its glowing Trip Advisor ratings, and it certainly did not disappoint. Don't let a somewhat underwhelming exterior fool you. Once thru the doors of this totally transformed former beer haus (check out the landing when you walk in), this boutique hotel's bright & hip furnishings simply scream 'relax and enjoy'! Brad (the perfect host) warmly welcomed us and carried all of our luggage up 2 flights to the top floor -- which was so, so quiet! We had nabbed the last room (a King Suite), perfect for 3 adults with a separate bedroom & sitting room w/sleeper sofa and gas fireplace. The lovely scent of fresh baking greeted us every morning - breakfast was delicious coffee, fresh fruit, and the yummiest scones (the pumpkin were completely other-wordly) and afternoon (amazing cookies). The location was ideal -- we completely avoided the craziness of Oktoberfest and the cruise boat crowds, enjoying quick access to Cliff Walk and Spring Street shopping (but not to worry, the Cooke House is easily walkable as well). Can't recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollyGoesLightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
The Attwater has had many lives (beer haus included!) and we think we've finally landed on the right one! What a wonderful way to describe the experience of walking through our door. We are so pleased that you had such a lovely time and that the spaciousness of our suites and the beauty of our bold, chic decor made such an impression on you. Brad and Meg certainly are great hosts (and bakers, as you pointed out), and it means a lot to us that you enjoyed their hospitality so much. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    88
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
58
239
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hackettstown, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

My wife and I loved the Attwater. Extremely clean through and through and the breakfast was a delight. For a quaint hotel they have superb technology available, each guest is given an iPad to use during their stay which is extremely helpful for planning day trips, dinners, etc. Definitely a great place and a great location for visiting all of the local sights. The piers and restaurants are a short walk away and the mansion tours are less than a five minute drive.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We are so glad that you loved The Attwater. It was a pleasure to have you visit and we are pleased that you enjoyed our high-tech amenities, delightful breakfast and our central Newport RI location. We hope to see you back here again soon to experience our expansion. Look for our new suites opening in May 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

I have stayed at the Attwater just for one night but have very much enjoyed my stay. The hotel is nice and modern, and very well located. There's plenty of parking space and most of the attractions and restaurnats are just a short walk away. Complementary ipads at the check-in are also a nice touch.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael_M_Moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your kind words about our modern style and amenities, and are so pleased that you enjoyed our central location to top Newport attractions and dining options. We hope that you'll be able to stay a bit longer next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, CT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Talk about a jewel box, this hotel is one of the prettiest hotels we've ever stayed in. From the moment you walk through the doors you just start to smile. You feel like you're walking into a beautiful home and not a hotel. Check-in is in the cafe where they have coffee, tea and homemade pastries waiting for you. Meg who is an absolute delight answered any questions we had and gave us an iPad to use during our stay. It's already programmed with local restaurant and their menus, the different sites to see around Newport and other useful information. Our room was very bright, cheerful, beautifully decorated and very clean. This is one hotel I can't wait to go back to again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skifan_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
We're blushing! It's a great compliment to be called the "one of the prettiest hotels" you've stayed in. Thank you so much for your review and thoughts about our afternoon pastries, welcoming service and useful iPads. We love it when guests use our high-tech amenities. Please do come back and stay with us again the next time you need a getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

My new favorite place! We had an amazing night at the Attwater and highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Newport. It is an absolutely gorgeous property, from the moment you pull up to it you will be impressed. Emma was so kind as we checked in. While we were waiting to get our room key we devoured the homemade chocolate chip cookies in the spread they have out for guests. As we walked to our room we were getting excited because we knew it would be beautiful based on the decor leading up to it. Once we entered the room we didn't want to leave. I want to replicate this look for my home bedroom. So tastefully decorated. Way to go attwater! Seriously loved it, can you tell? The bed was so comfortable and big we did not want to get out of it in the morning. The in-room Keurig allowed me to lounge an extra hour or two in bed :) The shower head is one of those rain showers, oh my god it was fantastic. The complimentary soaps and shampoos were some of the best smelling and quality I've used in a hotel. I would have totally stolen them off the maids cart, but I didn't ;) the location is fantastic we walked right to dinner and then out to the bars. If it weren't a cool November evening we would have sat on the back patio at some point and enjoyed the wine we brought, that too was gorgeous. Next summer we will be back to experience that. Brad and Meg the managers were so sweet and accommodating, they truly made our stay more enjoyable.The breakfast they served was perfect for what you need in the morning. I'm still thinking about the baked eggs! I can not give one reason as to why you should not book this place! Do it! Seriously, a job well
done at the Attwater!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justinelea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and, even more, your enthusiasm! We are so pleased that you had a great experience at The Attwater and we look forward to your return. Sounds like you enjoyed the Lather bath products and our homemade afternoon pastries quite a bit, as well as the wonderful service of our onsite managers, Brad and Meg. Our Interior Designer, Rachel Reider, will be pleased to hear that the design of our Newport boutique hotel resonated so much with you. She's working with us on our expansion into the property next door. I think you'll love the look of those rooms, as well. Hope to see you back in Newport soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Our stay at the Attwater was just what we needed.

It was beautifully decorated and conveniently located. Our room was spacious and beautiful.

Things to note:
- complementary ipads when you check in (nice touch)
- baked goods for breakfast (take advantage)
- beautiful common areas
- big outdoor deck (it was too cold for us to enjoy it, but it was furnished and would be a great place to hang out)
- friendly owners
- bathrooms are a little on the small side; stall shower might not be the most comfortable for all guests

We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littleshoeprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your recommendation and specific thoughts. You'll be pleased to know that our bathrooms will be renovated this winter. Come back and see us again next spring or summer when you can take advantage of our back deck. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

i was very impressed with the ambience, service and location. The room even had a fire place which created a cozy atmosphere . I plan to come again during the boat show and I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting New Port Rhode island.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarkan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate the recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again when you come up for the boat show.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.6 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.2 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#8 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Attwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Attwater

Property: The Attwater
Address: 22 Liberty St, Newport, RI 02840-3221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport
#9 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Attwater 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in Newport’s nautical history — yet with a bold touch of the unexpected — you’ll experience our most original Newport accommodations in stylish comfort.Discover a more personal lodging alternative to big box hotels — yet with a chic, modern edge elusive to most B&Bs. Find exceptional rooms and amenities; a clever, all-day coffee cafe; the latest tech amenities; and attentive service when you want it (privacy when you don’t).As one of the first hotel properties in Newport, the Attwater is set on a quiet street just a block off Bellevue Avenue in the central historic district. All of Newport’s sights, sounds and tastes — sailing, tennis, night life, restaurants, beaches, history, mansions — are all only a short stroll away. In fact, our newly renovated boutique hotel is merely three blocks from Newport Harbor and an eight-minute walk to First Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Attwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attwater Villa Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing