We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great funky inn”
Review of The Attwater

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Attwater
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great funky inn”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My daughter and I spent one night, mid-week, in May. The inn is done in very modern but charming decor. Our room was spacious and comfortable, with convenient compartmentalized bath. Only complaint is that sound travels and we had to ask our neighbors to turn down their music (which they did). Staff very helpful and friendly and gave us an ipad pre-loaded with local information, very useful. Breakfast was the best I've had in years. Also conveniently located to view the "cottages" and to shop on Bellevue.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Lovely to hear that our breakfasts were the "best you've had in years!" what a compliment. Thank you for your review and your thoughts on our services and amenities. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    90
    15
    6
    7
See reviews for
58
244
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, UAE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Having chosen The Attwater to break our journey between NYC and Cape Cod, we rerouted (by several hours) on the way back to stay with them again. Wonderfully inviting, extremely comfortable and two fantastic young hosts in Brad and Megan, I really can't recommend this great little hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: Can recommend both the King Room and, for a little extra space, the King Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_DXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for going the long-way 'round to return to The Attwater! We so appreciate your business and your kind words. Brad and Megan are great, aren't they?! We hope your travels bring you back to New England and The Attwater again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We loved the Attwater Hotel! The moment you step in you realize this place is not the typical upscale chain hotel.
The decor is so fresh with modern decor and bright contemporary fabrics, not to mention beautiful, comfortable furniture and stylish lighting...
Our corner room was so beautiful, bright with natural light and lovely colors. The king size bed was very comfortable. I will be recommending the Attwater to our friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norma495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We love that you say we are "not typical" -- that's what being Newport Unconventional is all about! We appreciate your kind words about our decor, comfy beds and stylish lighting. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back if your travels bring you again to Newport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Just completing a very in pace weekend at the Attwater. The space is modern cozy and the staff is incredibly friendly. We loved that it is tucked back away from the touristy main drag of Newport. That said, everything is walkable. A morning run along Bellevue and the Cliff Walk was a perfect pre-breakfast (delicious!) treat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kortni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2013

As others reviewed, this is a great small hotel with beautiful and nicely equipped rooms. We stayed in 2 rooms; 2 adults and 1 kid at a king suite and 1 adult and 1 kid at a petite queen. The room size was just good for our family. They warmly welcomed us and served excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Takatoshi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This place is absolutely wonderful. Super clean, super modern (even give you an ipad filled with things to do around town at check in). The room was small but still perfect. It's a little bit farther away from downtown than some other places, but still within walking distance. My girlfriend and I stayed at the cleveland inn the next night and lets just say I would of paid 3 times as much to be back in the attwater (see my review). Breakfast was absolutely delicious. I will recommend this hotel to everyone I know going to Newport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjantaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you so much for visiting The Attwater and for telling your friends and family about us. We are glad we made your stay so enjoyable and look forward to the next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
147 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We decided to visit Newport for a quick overnight. The town was quiet and the weather was great - we did not make reservations but had seen The Attwater on-line and decided to stop in. We were greeted warmly and given a suite on the top floor. It had a spacious living space, a small refrigerator and coffee maker and then a larger sleeping area. The decor is fabulous - chic, modern, minimalist with hints of color. I loved the black and white tiled bath area and I especially appreciated the separate sink area. Linens are top notch and the King bed was very comfy. The ipod dock is a nice added touch as was the gas fireplace - we both have iPads so we did not use the one they loan you. The Attwater is close to town, the marina and the historic district - great location and off the main streets. We could hear people through our bathroom vent but nothing to distracting to our stay. The breakfast in the AM was an added bonus - we shared quiche and a ham/cheese scone like pastry along with fresh melon. The hosts are pleasant and thoughtful. A great place to rest - the sitting space on the first floor was bright and festive and a wonderful place to hang out if you did not want to stay in your room. I especially love the hardwood floors and the bowls on the wall as you walk up the stairs. A great stay!

Room Tip: We were on the top floor which was nice and had a nice corner room. It was a suite but with the sitt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. So are so glad you had a great time in one of our King Suites. Aren't the bowls in the hallway cool? Our interior designer, Rachel Reider, really has an eye for details like that. Sounds like you had a nice, relaxing time in our comfy beds and savored our complimentary breakfast in the morning. Please come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,950 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.6 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.2 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Attwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Attwater

Property: The Attwater
Address: 22 Liberty St, Newport, RI 02840-3221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#5 Spa Hotel in Newport
#9 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Attwater 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in Newport’s nautical history — yet with a bold touch of the unexpected — you’ll experience our most original Newport accommodations in stylish comfort.Discover a more personal lodging alternative to big box hotels — yet with a chic, modern edge elusive to most B&Bs. Find exceptional rooms and amenities; a clever, all-day coffee cafe; the latest tech amenities; and attentive service when you want it (privacy when you don’t).As one of the first hotel properties in Newport, the Attwater is set on a quiet street just a block off Bellevue Avenue in the central historic district. All of Newport’s sights, sounds and tastes — sailing, tennis, night life, restaurants, beaches, history, mansions — are all only a short stroll away. In fact, our newly renovated boutique hotel is merely three blocks from Newport Harbor and an eight-minute walk to First Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Attwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attwater Villa Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing