We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but watch out for Queen rooms”
Review of The Attwater

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Attwater
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice place but watch out for Queen rooms”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in September for 3 nights. Overall the hotel and service was very good. They had a very nice dining area for breakfast where you could could choose different items of the day that were freshly baked and prepared.
The decor and location of the hotel were also very nice.
one of the real drawbacks was the bed. We opted to get a queen room (which we normally do not get), It was much smaller than a normal queen size. We measured it and it was not a standard queen. We are not bigger people, just average-sized, but felt quite uncomfortable.
Also the hotel had three flights of steep stairs (which we normally would not have a problem with because we are hiking all the time), it was just a bit hard carrying cumbersome luggage up the stairs though and the staff was helpful and offered to help with our luggage, We had luggage for a two week trip to New England with us.
We, especially my husband, are well-traveled, and are fans of Starwood hotels. The closest Sheraton we saw was in Providence.
We really wanted to try a modern twist on a Bed and Breakfast. That is what we got.

My tip would be pay the extra money for a king room when going. We just had some bad luck.
I gave them 3.5 stars

Room Tip: King rooms should give you more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doglover2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robblood, Owner at The Attwater, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
We remember these guests fondly and are disappointed that there were a couple of aspects of their stay that were not perfect. One thing that I want to assure everyone reading this is that our queen beds are, in fact, standard sized. They are Serta Presidential Pillow Top beds that fit on standard queen frames and are fitted with standard queen sheets and standard queen pillows. For anyone used to sleeping on a king bed on a regular basis, a queen bed does seem small. We are fortunate to offer four queen beds and eight king beds in various sized rooms. As the guest mentions, our hotel has three floors which are accessed by a central staircase. The stairs are broken up by a couple of landings and are built to code so they are not steeper than a typical residential staircase. Additionally, we are always more than happy to assist with luggage on the trip up and down.

If anyone has particular questions about the size of rooms or about any of our amenities, the website is a great place to start. On each rooms page there is a layout of the room and a description of the amenities offered in that particular room. We, of course, welcome phone calls if you have questions that are not answered by your online research.

By design we offer a much more modern experience than most bed and breakfasts and a more highly personalized experience than your typical big box hotel. We do all of this while working with the confines of a newly renovated historic 1910 building.

We love welcoming people to the Attwater and feel very good about the unconventional experience that we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    92
    15
    6
    8
See reviews for
60
251
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
milford, ct
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I have stayed in Newport many times in both large hotels and small bed and breakfasts. These trips were with my husband and this was a mother and adult daughter getaway. When I visit again I will hopefully find availability at the Attwater because it is the best property for service and location. I know my husband is looking forward to visiting after listening to my raves. The rooms were beautiful (we stayed in a suite) and clean. We enjoyed the outdoor deck area and the sitting areas and alcoves. The harbor, shops, restaurants, mansions, and cliffwalk were all within easy walking distance. The breakfast was a plus as was the ipad. Great boutique hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinkobella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. We hope we do become your "go to" place to stay in Newport. We're glad you and your daughter had a great time and we truly appreciate that you feel we are the "best place" for service and location. It's nice to hear that you raved about us to your husband! We look forward to welcoming you you back - with him! - in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seekonk, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We have been to Newport many times and always find something new we love there. This time it was the Attwater. The up-scale decor drew us in, but other intangibles made it a wonderful stay. The greeting we received upon arrival, the comfort of the room, the lovely array of breakfast chioces, and the friendly inkeeper, Rob, and the "tucked-away-but-convenient location" were all part of a memorable experiece. Oh, we have never been given the option of the use of an Apple tablet before. Very cool way to check out the town's offerings. Newport is a great city made better by this new addition,the Attwater.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
It was a privilege to have you stay with us for your special celebration. We are pleased that our decor drew you in and our services and amenities made your anniversary visit that much more memorable. We hope you come again soon - whether for another occasion or simply a quick getaway to relax and restore!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayville, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The Attwater hotel is a great boutique hotel in Newport. We stayed here while going to the Newport Food & Wine Festival which we highly recommend. My wife and I have been to Newport a few times and usually stay at one of the B&Bs. Attwater was a refreshing break from the colonial-style places. We really but walking distance to all. The breakfasts at the Attwater cafe were great. A nice selection of fresh food as well as great choices of egg dishes and scones, all fresh. We consider ourselves good judges of food and Attwater was a nice step above the regular bacon and egg breakfast. We also like that we have our own table at breakfast. The rooms at attwater follow the design of the hotel, modern and clean. We stayed in the petite queen which was roomier than expected. There is still a small fridge and coffee maker as well. This hotel is seems a bit pricey, but its prices are well worth it and on par with other prices in Newport. As far as the staff everyone was great, Rob (name?) the host was always gracious and very easy-going. He really made the stay feel personal. When we go back to Newport, we will definitely stay at the Attwater.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhtrips333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
So nice to hear that you enjoyed the Food & Wine festival! We are thrilled with all of the wonderful foodie events in town and are looking to the upcoming restaurant week in November. We are also quite pleased that our bold modern decor was a nice change for you from the colonial places that dominant Newport. We love living up to our "unconventional" reputation. Rob will be happy to hear that you appreciated his gracious and laid-back service, as well as his breakfast stylings! Please do stay with us again when your travels next temp you to New England.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We spent 3 nights and the Attwater. The hotel is spotless and the decor very modern. Our room was a little on the small side but really comfortable and bedlinen was supersoft!! Cannot fault the hotel in any way - service great , breakfast good and being given given an I-Pad on checkin for use during the stay was a great touch. Have to go and buy one now!! Location is perfect - quiet but very close to everything. Loved Newport and if we go back , would definately stay at the Attwater again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wigwam8415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
We should get a commission from Apple for hooking you on the iPad! Isn't it a great tool for planning things to do while on vacation? Thank you for your nice review and for letting us be your lodging destination in Newport. We look forward to your next visit at The Attwater!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

the Attwater is beautiful, clean and has impeccable service! The hotel is nicely decorated, a short walk to town and the manager Rob helped us with every request we had. the beach bags and chairs were a nice touch. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJC2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
We look forward to your return visit. Thanks a million for your recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbertville, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2012

My husband and I spent a night at the Attwater for a quick weekend getaway. We were impressed with the cleanliness and beautiful decor. Our room was beautiful and the bedding was incredibly soft and comfortable. The staff/owners were very friendly and helpful. The cafe served delicious breakfast pasteries. The Attwater is a perfect walking distance to local attractions. We would stay here again in a heartbeat and would recommend it to anyone. Loved it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Attwater for your quick getaway weekend. We are so glad you visited and took advantage of all our boutique hotel has to offer. We appreciate your kind words about our staff, baking skills and lovely decor. Please stay with us again the next time your travels take you to Newport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.6 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.2 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Attwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Attwater

Property: The Attwater
Address: 22 Liberty St, Newport, RI 02840-3221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#5 Spa Hotel in Newport
#9 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Attwater 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in Newport’s nautical history — yet with a bold touch of the unexpected — you’ll experience our most original Newport accommodations in stylish comfort.Discover a more personal lodging alternative to big box hotels — yet with a chic, modern edge elusive to most B&Bs. Find exceptional rooms and amenities; a clever, all-day coffee cafe; the latest tech amenities; and attentive service when you want it (privacy when you don’t).As one of the first hotel properties in Newport, the Attwater is set on a quiet street just a block off Bellevue Avenue in the central historic district. All of Newport’s sights, sounds and tastes — sailing, tennis, night life, restaurants, beaches, history, mansions — are all only a short stroll away. In fact, our newly renovated boutique hotel is merely three blocks from Newport Harbor and an eight-minute walk to First Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Attwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attwater Villa Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing