We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay!”
Review of The Attwater

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Attwater
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
“Fabulous stay!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We spent 3 nights and the Attwater. The hotel is spotless and the decor very modern. Our room was a little on the small side but really comfortable and bedlinen was supersoft!! Cannot fault the hotel in any way - service great , breakfast good and being given given an I-Pad on checkin for use during the stay was a great touch. Have to go and buy one now!! Location is perfect - quiet but very close to everything. Loved Newport and if we go back , would definately stay at the Attwater again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wigwam8415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
We should get a commission from Apple for hooking you on the iPad! Isn't it a great tool for planning things to do while on vacation? Thank you for your nice review and for letting us be your lodging destination in Newport. We look forward to your next visit at The Attwater!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    91
    15
    6
    8
See reviews for
60
250
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

the Attwater is beautiful, clean and has impeccable service! The hotel is nicely decorated, a short walk to town and the manager Rob helped us with every request we had. the beach bags and chairs were a nice touch. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJC2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
We look forward to your return visit. Thanks a million for your recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbertville, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2012

My husband and I spent a night at the Attwater for a quick weekend getaway. We were impressed with the cleanliness and beautiful decor. Our room was beautiful and the bedding was incredibly soft and comfortable. The staff/owners were very friendly and helpful. The cafe served delicious breakfast pasteries. The Attwater is a perfect walking distance to local attractions. We would stay here again in a heartbeat and would recommend it to anyone. Loved it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Attwater for your quick getaway weekend. We are so glad you visited and took advantage of all our boutique hotel has to offer. We appreciate your kind words about our staff, baking skills and lovely decor. Please stay with us again the next time your travels take you to Newport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We had a relaxing 3 night stay at The Attwater. I chose this hotel because it had great reviews on all of the travel sites I checked and the modern design on the website looked so nice! The ipad & apple tv was great and the breakfast was delicious! The room (king suite) was gorgeous and loved all the furniture and decor (I actually want to find out where they purchased the curtains in the main living room!). Since we were a party of 3, we used the sofa bed and it was comfortable (very high end furniture). Loved the cute black & white tiles in the bathroom, but maybe could need some improvement. Location was excellent (only a 5 minute walk from the main street of restaurants & shopping) and I liked the fact it had a private feeling. It was also close to the cliff walk (Rob at the front desk provided us a beach bag with towels and water so we can bring it to the beach). Overall, we had a wonderful experience with a warm staff and superb service. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
It's great to hear some feedback on our comfy sofa beds! Thank you for your kind words on our location, design and service and your thoughtful, detailed review. Our drapes were custom-made for us through our interior designer, Rachel Reider. Aren't they wonderful?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I chose the Attwater based solely on their sharp website and was very pleased. My girlfriend and I stayed for 3 nights and had a great experience. The room (king suite) was great, the breakfast was ample and delicious, and the staff were helpful and welcoming.

The hotel is well situated a short walk from Bellevue Ave, the waterfront, good restaurants, etc.

They will give you a parking pass for their specific parking area and if you park there you won't get towed (like I did - totally my fault not the hotel's).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winklertr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thanks for the props on our website! So glad you had a great stay despite being towed. Next time, please do take advantage of our free guest parking area. We greatly appreciate your nice comments and recommendation to others. Please make Newport a regular getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay at the Attwater. Friendly stuff, delicious pastries, loved the deck. Location is truly perfect, we could walk to most of the restaurant and didn't have to worry about parking. Also very close to Cliff Walk and mansions. Everything was just great, highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyofny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thanks for the kudos on our website and your kind words about our Newport hotel. We appreciate the recommendation. Also - so glad you didn't let your car towing experience dampen your visit. Please do take advantage of our parking lot on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed there Labor Day weekend. Outstanding; clean, huge suite with every technology you could possibly need: two flat screens, iTV and iPad. Great breakfast food. Quiet and private. Good parking available, as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zach270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Our technology amenities are a key part of our brand, and it means a lot to get positive feedback on them! We also love hearing that our baking skills are hitting the mark. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.6 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.2 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Attwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Attwater

Property: The Attwater
Address: 22 Liberty St, Newport, RI 02840-3221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#5 Spa Hotel in Newport
#9 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Attwater 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in Newport’s nautical history — yet with a bold touch of the unexpected — you’ll experience our most original Newport accommodations in stylish comfort.Discover a more personal lodging alternative to big box hotels — yet with a chic, modern edge elusive to most B&Bs. Find exceptional rooms and amenities; a clever, all-day coffee cafe; the latest tech amenities; and attentive service when you want it (privacy when you don’t).As one of the first hotel properties in Newport, the Attwater is set on a quiet street just a block off Bellevue Avenue in the central historic district. All of Newport’s sights, sounds and tastes — sailing, tennis, night life, restaurants, beaches, history, mansions — are all only a short stroll away. In fact, our newly renovated boutique hotel is merely three blocks from Newport Harbor and an eight-minute walk to First Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Attwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attwater Villa Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing