We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous getaway!”
Review of The Attwater

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Attwater
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at the Attwater. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We found the room to be comfortable and loved the decor! This was our first trip to Newport and we would definitely recommend the Attwater! We will be back:)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

It's nice to hear we made your first trip to Newport so enjoyable. We are pleased you had a wonderful experience at The Attwater and loved our decor. We hope to impress you even more on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 415 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2012

We booked a standard king which was very small albeit very comfy. The bathroom was smaller than ones on cruise ships;however, what the room lacked the hotel made up for. Our outside hallway led to a lovely patio and the other end of the short hallway led to a beautiful salon. We felt as if we were in a suite. The best part, however( delicious homemade baked goods asisde) was the helpful staff. They made arrangements for us for lunches and dinners snagging a perfect seat at a popular fine dining restaurant and making sure the staff there knew it was our anniversary.

Room Tip: We rated this room lower on value because we paid top dollar during high season for a very small roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

We are so glad you enjoyed your anniversary visit and took advantage of our staff's insider knowledge and connections! While we do offer a range of room sizes from petite queens to spacious king suites, we're are pleased you enjoyed the added benefit of our patio deck and window seating areas. Along with our spacious lounge and all-day cafe, we hope you were able to stretch out and feel at home. Please come stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Attwater is simply INCREDIBLE for its price! i'm a stickler... travel a lot on business, not too much for pleasure but when i do, very important to feel "pampered." thus, often costs me megabucks, and i dont earn megabucks, i'm a college professor! SO many wonderful touches about Attwater made it great. stayed in a king room, quite fine! coffee, refrig, wonderful high deck where we had a bottle of wine ( no license bring your own, FINE selection one block away). wonderful lounge, great breakfast room. we will definitely be back! 5+ stars, people~

Room Tip: king was excellent. coffee, refrig, quick access to deck, nice breeze (didnt need room's AC).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Thank you, professor! We love hearing the word "incredible." Our staff strives hard to make guests feel pampered. We realize this is your special time away and want you to make the most of it. So glad you enjoyed your time lounging on the deck with your bottle of wine. It really is a special spot under the trees. We are thrilled we made your first visit to Newport memorable and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I booked last minute at the Attwell and absolutely loved it. Very inviting, great decor, comfy bedding and the outdoor patio was great. Owners very friendly!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heger32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

The outdoor lounge is such a nice, relaxing haven isn't it?! So glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We loved our stay there! Incredibly helpful friendly staff, very clean rooms, the complimentary iPads were a nice treat (pre-loaded with a ton of helpful Newport information), great location, and had a wonderful complimentary bakery. We would highly recommend the Attwater. We miss it already!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa83084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Well, we miss you, too! Thanks for your lovely review and for recommending us to others. We're so glad you enjoyed our amenities, friendly staff and central Newport location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We loved our stay at the Attwater. Rob and his wife were really kind and knew lots about the area and damn can they bake!! The breakfasts and treats were delicious! We liked that it was away from the center a bit - it was a nice walk down the hill to the main drag in Newport. The bed was sooo comfortable, the tolietries luxurious, and the touches in the hotel and the room were super cute. The website advertises the fact that there are Ipads in the rooms - this was not the case - they did have a dock - but you needed to bring your own Ipod, Iphone, or Ipad. We look forward to returning to the Attwater again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MixDirkwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

We are so glad you loved your stay at The Attwater and appreciate your kind words about our staff and baking abilities! The pastries are dangerously good are they not?. Also, let me apologize that you were not offered your iPad upon check-in. We do have them for every room and not offering you one was an oversight on our part. We are ironing out our procedures to ensure that this doesn't happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This had to be the nicest inn we have stayed. We loved the altrachic decor. Our room was clean and stylish. The bed was comfortable. We loved the cafee. The food was superb. The staff was friendly and helpful. We are looking forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Wow! Six exclamation points! Thanks so much for your great review. We are go glad you enjoyed your stay and the amenities at The Attwater. We look forward to your return visit, as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,096 reviews
0.6 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#9 of 21 in Newport
586 reviews
0.5 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Attwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Attwater

Address: 22 Liberty St, Newport, RI 02840-3221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#3 Family Hotel in Newport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#9 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $153 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Attwater 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in Newport’s nautical history — yet with a bold touch of the unexpected — you’ll experience our most original Newport accommodations in stylish comfort.Discover a more personal lodging alternative to big box hotels — yet with a chic, modern edge elusive to most B&Bs. Find exceptional rooms and amenities; a clever, all-day coffee cafe; the latest tech amenities; and attentive service when you want it (privacy when you don’t).As one of the first hotel properties in Newport, the Attwater is set on a quiet street just a block off Bellevue Avenue in the central historic district. All of Newport’s sights, sounds and tastes — sailing, tennis, night life, restaurants, beaches, history, mansions — are all only a short stroll away. In fact, our newly renovated boutique hotel is merely three blocks from Newport Harbor and an eight-minute walk to First Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Attwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attwater Villa Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing