We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home”
Review of The Attwater

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Attwater
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

What can I say that hasn't been said in the other reviews? The Attwater is a great place, run by great people. It is everything you can want at an affordable price. I've rarely been treated so well at any price point. I highly recommend it. My husband and I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Remember that heat rises - next time we will ask for the second floor, rather than the third so we c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thank you so much for highly recommending us. It is always nice to hear that we offer a "great place run by great people." We certainly think our guests are great! Please think of us again the next time you plan a "lark" to Newport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    91
    15
    6
    8
See reviews for
60
250
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We revisited the Newport, RI scene and stayed at the Attwater. We stayed at this particular Inn to enjoy the quiet location and convenience to places we enjoy seeing.
This year there was a major transformation. The bold fresh new look, took me a while to get used to as I was picturing the way it was last year. Don't worry, the new look is great. It is very, very new, with all the modern conveniences and technology the traveler needs these days. We especially liked the deck to relax in the afternoon. Still a few things to finish up, but we hope to revisit next year and see all the progress.
The Inn keepers are working hard to get their new acquisition off to a good start and all who work there are very nice and knowledgable.
Still a favorite of ours when traveling in the Newport area.

Room Tip: Their suites offer plenty of room, but the Deluxe King is spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
We are so glad we could host you again! We appreciate you returning and checking out all the changes. We look forward to impressing you even more the next time. We've worked hard to bring a fresh, new look to Newport and it means a lot that you embraced it. Thanks again for the support and the lovely words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, CT
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

First impressions mean a lot - and The Attwater didn't disappoint. We were welcomed by Taylor, who was delightful and gracious. Rob came out to greet us and made us instantly feel at home. The lounge decor is special - modern, funky and inviting. This is true of the guest rooms and cafe as well. The Attwater is a little gem in a well located, quiet spot of Newport. You'll love it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 001LDZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
We're so glad we made a great first impression on you! We love our new look and are glad you did, as well.Taylor, Rob and the entire staff look forward to welcoming you back to our modern, unconventional Newport boutique hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Perfect location, walk to everything, hotel is so clean! We stayed in small queen room which was perfect for our needs. Beautiful deck for relaxation. Spotless cafe. Very friendly and accommodating staff.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murphy201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We think our petite queens are lovely and cozy, too. So glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I spent the weekend at the Attwater with my husband and it's a gem among all the hotels in Newport. Not only is it one of the more affordable hotels in the center of town, it's stylish, fresh, clean with a friendly staff. Yummy baked goods and fantastic lattes made jump started our mornings. The hotel is a short walk to the mansions, the beach and shopping. I would highly recommend going to the Attwater Inn.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
So pleased you and your husband enjoyed your stay at The Attwater. We greatly appreciate your saying so! We love our central, but quiet, location, too, and endeavor to help our guests explore all that Newport has to offer. Please come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, NJ
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I'm thrilled to be able to gush about this gem as one of the Atwatter’s first guests on a quick weekend getaway.

What Rob, Leigh and his crew have thankfully done is reimagined the traditional B&B and created a modern and warm retreat for design minded people…finally!
They are truly hands-on owners who treat this hotel as a labor of love and it shows.

The 12-room hotel has been gut renovated and mindfully designed with modern comfortable furniture, fun accents and crisp bright “beach” colors – blues, greens, and silver with hints of orange. We are happily stealing some design ideas and the paint color from the walls for our own apartment.

As you walk through the front door past the airy and cozy coffee café to the “front desk”, you are greeted with cool music and an array of espresso options and bite-sized treats (brownies and shortbread) handmade by the owner served on sleek white dishes. We loved that you can grab a bite all day, whenever you want something. Breakfast is also a treat handmade by Rob that included a fresh melon, lime and mint salad, cracked pepper scones, rustic fruit “pop tarts”, granola and local bagels that you can sit and enjoy in the café or on the great back deck.

The beds are really comfortable and loved being able to use the apple TV to watch a Netflix movie in our room. Rooms also include, Keurig coffee makers, small refrigerator, waffle weave bathrobes, Lather bath products, ipod docking station, ipads stocked with local info/recommendations, free wifi, wine glasses, wine keys and more. The AC kept the room really cold but the windows also open for cooler nights.

The hotel sits right next to the Newport Art Museum and is in walking distance to everything. But luckily they offer free parking which is really helpful since most side streets are for resident parking only.

They have hit the perfect balance of warmth and design and exceeded all our expectations. If only we could keep the Attwater a secret!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trippedout2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
We are so glad you "discovered" us and are willing to share your wonderful comments - despite your desire to keep us a secret! Love that you got some design ideas. We think our interior designer, Rachel Reider, is the bomb.Thank you for visiting us during our Grand Opening. We look forward to your next visit to The Attwater.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The Attwater had just reopened so there were a few small niggles but otherwise fantastic. The bed was soooo comfortable. I have been to newport before and was worried that we would be too far out of the main attractions but it is a short walk up a small hill. Thecafe is great. Coffee all day and some amazing treats.

Will.definately go back when i am in Newport.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandybows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you for your kind review and for visiting us early on! We're working on smoothing out those little "just opened" wrinkles and look forward to offering the best guest services in Newport! And, yes, aren't our beds comfy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.6 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.2 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Attwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Attwater

Property: The Attwater
Address: 22 Liberty St, Newport, RI 02840-3221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#5 Spa Hotel in Newport
#9 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Attwater 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in Newport’s nautical history — yet with a bold touch of the unexpected — you’ll experience our most original Newport accommodations in stylish comfort.Discover a more personal lodging alternative to big box hotels — yet with a chic, modern edge elusive to most B&Bs. Find exceptional rooms and amenities; a clever, all-day coffee cafe; the latest tech amenities; and attentive service when you want it (privacy when you don’t).As one of the first hotel properties in Newport, the Attwater is set on a quiet street just a block off Bellevue Avenue in the central historic district. All of Newport’s sights, sounds and tastes — sailing, tennis, night life, restaurants, beaches, history, mansions — are all only a short stroll away. In fact, our newly renovated boutique hotel is merely three blocks from Newport Harbor and an eight-minute walk to First Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Attwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attwater Villa Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing