We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red Parrot Flies High despite injured wings.....”

Red Parrot Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 234 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $28
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Karthaus, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Red Parrot Flies High despite injured wings.....”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

April 2013 lunch at the famous Red Parrot was very good. It was just opening for the day and they seated us right at a front streetside corner/window, kinda small for two people with place empty.....also, the waitress took her time to get back to us when we decided after ordering that we wanted expensive Bloody Marys....we couldn't order it until our lunch had arrived. But she was friendly, the food was very good and the drink was great! Pricey as most of Newport is so expect that. We always go there,its part of the Newport experience......Go enjoy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GEORGE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,844 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    777
    723
    252
    55
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The place to eat in Newport”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Expect a wait especially during the busy season but the food is worth it! The calamari keeps me coming back every season!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CustomerServicQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing bad to say!”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Huge menu will keep everybody happy. Great Bob Marley-esque soundtrack made you feel like you were in the Carribean more than Rhode Island. Food and experience were great! The Swedish Fish cocktail is really good but fellas, be warned that it is pink and comes with whipped cream on top, which my girlfriend won't let me live down.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank agferna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, NV
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Waiter was way too "cool"”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The food was great, the hostess was very nice....However, our waiter seemed to act as though he was waaay too cool for the likes of us. Kinda funny since we're from Manhattan....Hee.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank woozer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEXINGTON
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cute, predictable”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Fun, cute, Caribbean piratish themed place. Good service, food good, large servings. My biggest regret was it was too cold for me to utilize the frozen drink menu, which was interesting.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nagonmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Parrot Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Red Parrot Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing