We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Pub Food”
Review of Brick Alley Pub

Brick Alley Pub
Ranked #6 of 234 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $27
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: At Brick Alley Pub we have it all: "pub style" comfort food to modern multicultural cuisine all served with genuine down-home hospitality. Like America itself, Brick Alley is one big melting pot of ethnicities, flavors, and fun. If you are looking for stiff, over the top formal service with small portions of over-priced food, we are not that place. After more than 30 years as one of Rhode Island's most popular restaurants with locals and tourists alike, the Brick Alley Pub & Restaurant has earned landmark status. Located at 140 Thames Street across from the Brick Market Place in Downtown Newport the Brick Alley Pub & Restaurant offers a warm and cozy fireplace in the winter and comfortably air-conditioned dining rooms in the summer. The Brick Alley Pub & Restaurant specializes in a blend of flavorful steaks, fresh local seafood, pastas, and seasonal specials. Begin your dinner with a selection from our cocktail menu or choose a wine from our extensive wine list. This wine list features over 250 different vintages and has received the Wine Spectator Award for Excellence. Open for lunch and dinner, Brick Alley Pub & Restaurant accepts reservations and offers an upstairs function room that can accommodate up to 170 people. The Brick Alley Pub & Restaurant has received favorable reviews from countless local and national publications including: The Providence Journal, Travel-Holiday, Ford Times, Rhode Island Monthly, and Newport Life Magazine. In addition, Jameson Irish Whiskey bestowed the restaurant with their "Best Irish Coffee Award" for three consecutive years and inducted the Brick Alley Pub & Restaurant into their Hall of Fame. Brick Alley has also been featured on The Food Network and is a favorite of Boston's Phantom Gourmet.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
192 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Tasty Pub Food”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stopped at the Brick Alley Pub for lunch on a Saturday. Our timing must have been good, because within 10 minutes of being seated, the place was packed. We ate at the bar and the servers were very attentive and friendly. The décor is a fun eclectic mix with items ranging from gas pump globes to a fiberglass tiger. Patrons at the bar were a mix of locals and visitors. Portions are large, prices are affordable, and the atmosphere is casual and energetic.

Make sure you check out the actual brick alley next to/behind the restaurant it’s one of the “haunted locations” on the Newport Ghost Tour. Boo!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DodgerMom668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,319
    886
    241
    36
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cranston, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
78 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Well worth any wait . Great food !!!!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

The wait tells you just how good this place is. Just put your name in and check out the near by shops while your wait. I find it unfair to fault the restaurant for being so good. If that's the case go somewhere that is not very good and get seated right away. Anyway, this place has great food at good prices. The salad bar always has a great variety and is always fresh. Huge menu with enough variety to please everyone. Add a beer, cocktail or nice glass or wine and your day is complete. Remember this is a busy pub style atmosphere so kick back, enjoy the wonderful service and have fun. This is a must visit when in Newport whether for lunch or dinner or just sitting at the bar for a drink. Give it a try you won't be sorry.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norman F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Fast friendly service-Awesome nachos”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Been here a few times now. Service is fast and friendly. If there's a wait, there is usually space at the bar to hang out. Menu is large, but you can't order wrong. Nachos are a great a place to start. Plate is HUGE and does not skimp on the toppings. If you're not too full the baked stuffed sole is out of this world. Still hungry? Southwest sundae or Brownie Heaven. Can easily share with four people. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kc1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our New Favorite Place!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We try to get out of NYC and up the East Coast as often as we can. With the weather breaking, we decided to make a quick trip to Newport, taking in the Cliff Walk and all the fun Thames St. has to offer. While these trips never disappoint, our most recent adventure found us thoroughly enjoying a dinner at the Brick Alley. There were a number of people hanging out front so we immediately thought to keep walking (out of fear of this place being a tourist trap) but figured we would at least check out the menu. As we were reading off items like the "Triple Hot Hot Hot Buffalo Shrimp Pasta," "BBQ Memphis Burger," and nacho platters we began to be a little more open-minded; eavesdropping on the people congregating outside revealed that they were locals (and not tourists) and the happily satiated looks on their face was the last domino to fall and push inside.

We spoke with the hostess who smiled as she said it was a 45 minute wait, but that we could put our names in and grab a drink at either the upstairs or downstairs bar. After a long day of walking, waiting was the last thing we wanted to do. As it would turn out, it was the best thing we could have done. We promptly found an open rail in the bar area by the awesome salad bar. The waitress came right over to take our drink order and also let us know we could get full kitchen service right where we were at. Perfect! No waiting for us!

By the time she came back with our drinks (the Bob's W Espresso Martini on the rocks is unreal) we already knew we wanted nachos so we started with that. Being unaware of just how absurdly large that nacho platter is, we also ordered entrees which came with the soup and salad bar: the Buffalo Shrimp Pasta from earlier for me and the Ahi Tuna for the lady.

So we ran up to the salad bar (which was completely stocked with any number of toppings and dressings - not to mention, a motorcycle...) and grabbed a bowl of soup (I think it was Portuguese Kale? either way it was really tasty) and put it all down just in time for the nachos to arrive.

Holy mountain of chicken and cheese. There was enough chicken on these things to last us the trip back to NYC and the pile of guacamole was a very much welcomed change from those places that give you a little spoonful! We did what we could with this dish, but knew we wanted to save ourselves for dinner so the waitress boxed up the rest for us to take home.

As for the entrees, all I can say is that we had leftovers for 2 days. My pasta was served in a huge bowl, seasoned with just enough spice to make me want more, but not start sweating. The Ahi was seared to perfection with a kick [--] seasoning that put it over the top. And oh yeah, both also came with a generous side dish. Garlic bread for me, creamed spinach for her (she figured that since she ate lean with the tuna, she could get a little dirty with the creamed spinach - I am happy she did because it was so good; thick enough that you could stand your fork straight up in it!).

We were too stuffed for dessert (plus the Bob's W was almost a good stand in for it) but kept seeing the waitresses come out of the salad bar area with mouth-watering treats. Next time, we might just start with the huge fishbowl of ice cream with a brownie or try the Southwest Sundae (our waitress said it was her favorite - a tortilla shell coated in sugar and cinnamon filled with soft serve and topped with honey).

As a huge fan of Danny Meyer, this place definitely gives him a run for his money in the service department. It was like a team of ninjas was running around in the shadows, making sure to always refill the water, take away the dirty plate, replace the silverware, etc. and doing so without being seen. Combine this level of service with huge servings of awesome food and a truly fun environment and you have a recipe for a favorite restaurant. We can't wait to get back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank h_murray0013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Lively and Tasty Local Eatery”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

If you want to experience the fun of being in the midst of a hubbub of tourists and local regulars while enjoying some better-than-average food, try the Brick Alley Pub. Always busy (MAKE RESERVATIONS!); an easy walk in downtown Newport; a variety of rooms and tables with interesting-to-ponder decor kitsch filling every wall; reasonably priced food and drink; expansive menu that features a nicely-prepared variety of fresh seafood, daily specials and an oddly anachronistic but popular huge salad bar that includes soups; friendly and efficient service. Even my pickiest child found something he liked! Too noisy for a romantic dinner, but perfect for families and groups of friends/colleagues. Front tables look out on busy Thames St. for people watching.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BTBEnglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brick Alley Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing