We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pet friendly gem in Newport!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beech Tree Inn and Cottage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Ranked #5 of 102 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brookfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A pet friendly gem in Newport!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

we went to Newport during the winter festival weekend in February. we searched for a pet friendly inn and stumbled upon this gem. the Inn keepers were extremely friendly and accommodating. they even gave us extra bacon in the morning for our Izzy. very spacious comfortable room, with a fireplace and a whirlpool tub the size of a kids pool. the French toast was to die for! centrally located for ease of access to all of Downtown Newports attractions.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annamariebrookfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    48
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
188
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Niantic
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We recently returned to this inn for a couple of days in winter. We find it relaxing, welcoming, and comfortable. The staff was wonderful, helpful, friendly and accommodating. We love going there as we always feel special. Breakfasts are wonderful, and they serve a variety of choices, healthy selections, and just about anything one would want. Our room was comfortable, and so was the living room, with its fireplace, and inviting furniture. The ability to make a cup of coffee/tea when you want to in the dining room is a real plus for us, and reminds us of our trips to UK where they have the hot pots in the room. We are looking forward to returning sometime to this inn (best to do it "off-season" though as Newport can get crowded and pricey, everywhere.)

Room Tip: If you are short in stature, ask for a small bedroom step stool, as beds are quite high, very comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy and Dick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I went for a long weekend after Christmas and stayed at the Beech Tree Inn. The owners were so welcoming and a joy to be around. Our room, a king with patio/fireplace/jacuzzi, was comfortable and very clean. The breakfast was soooo great! Eggs and home fries especially delicious. We didn't want to leave and absolutely cannot wait to get back to Newport and are planning another summer weekend at the Beech Tree.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shannon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Spent two nights over Thanksgiving and found the inn to be comfortable, clean, and friendly. The owners were try dog lovers and did not charge an exorbitant fee for our pet as do some supposedly pet-friendly hotels.
The breakfast was very good. Atmosphere was welcoming and comfortable.

Definitely recommend and will return.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed the first weekend in December. While I thought the room was a bit pricey, it was the best price I could find! WOW is Newport expensive!! We stayed in a king room on the second floor. Bed, two chairs, dresser, TV, two end tables, and an electronic fireplace. The bathroom was nice with a jacuzzi tub. Breakfast was good. You get a choice- eggs, pancakes, omelet, French toast. The coffee was excellent! The walk to town was quick, about 10 minutes.
Overall it was a really nice B&B.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bexroadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Even we reserved online and show up less than 15 minutes later we were received by the friendly face of Jeff, who gave us a master suite with a fire place, a terrace and a jacuzzi. The free breakfast is huge and delicious. The rooms are clean, the whole house is beautiful and well maintained. It is located in a quiet street, just a five minutes walk to the shops and restaurants in Newport. The bathroom is well fitted with quality products. It is a much rewarding experience than a chain hotel.

Room Tip: A nice New England experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank omar s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

very comfortable beds with nice cotton linens. super clean. very accommodating staff. we upgraded to a suite in the cottage. both rooms we stayed in were great. excellent homemade breakfast included in the price. can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotbikini1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,763 reviews
0.8 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.8 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inn on Bellevue
Inn on Bellevue
#13 of 102 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cliffside Inn
Cliffside Inn
#2 of 102 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Tree Inn and Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Tree Inn and Cottage

Property: Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Address: 34 Rhode Island Ave, Newport, RI 02840-2609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beech Tree Inn and Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beech Tree Inn & Cottage offers bright rooms with Private Bath, Flat screen cable TV, Air-conditioning, Free Wi-Fi, Free parking, and a Big Breakfast, hot-off-the-grill. Walk to town center. Located in quiet historic neighborhood. Family & pet friendly by arrangement. AAA 3-diamond rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Beech Tree Inn and Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Tree Inn And Cottage Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing