We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Dog friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beech Tree Inn and Cottage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Ranked #14 of 102 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dog friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Spent two nights over Thanksgiving and found the inn to be comfortable, clean, and friendly. The owners were try dog lovers and did not charge an exorbitant fee for our pet as do some supposedly pet-friendly hotels.
The breakfast was very good. Atmosphere was welcoming and comfortable.

Definitely recommend and will return.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    37
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
16
144
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed the first weekend in December. While I thought the room was a bit pricey, it was the best price I could find! WOW is Newport expensive!! We stayed in a king room on the second floor. Bed, two chairs, dresser, TV, two end tables, and an electronic fireplace. The bathroom was nice with a jacuzzi tub. Breakfast was good. You get a choice- eggs, pancakes, omelet, French toast. The coffee was excellent! The walk to town was quick, about 10 minutes.
Overall it was a really nice B&B.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bexroadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Even we reserved online and show up less than 15 minutes later we were received by the friendly face of Jeff, who gave us a master suite with a fire place, a terrace and a jacuzzi. The free breakfast is huge and delicious. The rooms are clean, the whole house is beautiful and well maintained. It is located in a quiet street, just a five minutes walk to the shops and restaurants in Newport. The bathroom is well fitted with quality products. It is a much rewarding experience than a chain hotel.

Room Tip: A nice New England experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank omar s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

very comfortable beds with nice cotton linens. super clean. very accommodating staff. we upgraded to a suite in the cottage. both rooms we stayed in were great. excellent homemade breakfast included in the price. can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotbikini1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This place was amazing and I highly recommend it! I went with my boyfriend and small dog this past weekend, we were in Newport for my college roommate's wedding. I'm so happy we decided to stay here. It was our first time staying at a bed & breakfast and hopefully our first of many stays here! Our room, a deluxe king, was beautiful. We had a balcony overlooking one of the gorgeous beech trees in the front yard, a jacuzzi tub in the bathroom-in addition to a large shower, a gas fireplace, and lovely furnishings. The daily breakfast was delicious and offered many selections cooked to order. Eggs, omelets, pancakes, famous french toast, fruit, pastries, coffee & tea...mmm!! The best part of this inn though was the staff that went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. The innkeeper, Jim, was so kind to us and our dog, who has bad separation anxiety. He went out of his way to ensure our dog was happy while we were out at the wedding. He is a true dog lover and an amazingly kindhearted soul. We will return just to see his friendly face again! Thank you so much Jim and all the friendly staff at the Beech Tree Inn for making our stay perfect. You guys are great and we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shan263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on our New England road trip. The Inn itself is very pretty, we stayed on the 2nd floor which was a bit of a hike upstairs with 2 heavy bags but worth it. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom was well fitted out with everything you would expect. There is also a kitchen for use of all guests with a hob and microwave plus large fridge freezer, great if you bring back leftovers from the huge restaurant meals. The Innkeeper is very helpful and informative and kept the conversation flowing between guests at breakfast which is included in the room rate and delicious. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjb0st0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful time in Newport and spent 3 nights at the Beech Tree Inn. The Inn was charming, spotlessly clean and very comfortable and the enormous breakfast was delicious. The innkeeper was congenial and offered many insider tips on where to go and restaurants to try. The location was close to everything we wanted to see. The mid-week prices were a bargain and we hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 1,695 reviews
0.8 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.8 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#11 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 1,381 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#9 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 338 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#7 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Tree Inn and Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Tree Inn and Cottage

Property: Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Address: 34 Rhode Island Ave, Newport, RI 02840-2609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beech Tree Inn and Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beech Tree Inn & Cottage offers bright rooms with Private Bath, Flat screen cable TV, Air-conditioning, Free Wi-Fi, Free parking, and a Big Breakfast, hot-off-the-grill. Walk to town center. Located in quiet historic neighborhood. Family & pet friendly by arrangement. AAA 3-diamond rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de and Travelocity so you can book your Beech Tree Inn and Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Tree Inn And Cottage Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing