We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“highly recommended!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Ranked #4 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, Connecticut, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“highly recommended!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

This place was amazing and I highly recommend it! I went with my boyfriend and small dog this past weekend, we were in Newport for my college roommate's wedding. I'm so happy we decided to stay here. It was our first time staying at a bed & breakfast and hopefully our first of many stays here! Our room, a deluxe king, was beautiful. We had a balcony overlooking one of the gorgeous beech trees in the front yard, a jacuzzi tub in the bathroom-in addition to a large shower, a gas fireplace, and lovely furnishings. The daily breakfast was delicious and offered many selections cooked to order. Eggs, omelets, pancakes, famous french toast, fruit, pastries, coffee & tea...mmm!! The best part of this inn though was the staff that went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. The innkeeper, Jim, was so kind to us and our dog, who has bad separation anxiety. He went out of his way to ensure our dog was happy while we were out at the wedding. He is a true dog lover and an amazingly kindhearted soul. We will return just to see his friendly face again! Thank you so much Jim and all the friendly staff at the Beech Tree Inn for making our stay perfect. You guys are great and we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shan263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    52
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
33
241
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on our New England road trip. The Inn itself is very pretty, we stayed on the 2nd floor which was a bit of a hike upstairs with 2 heavy bags but worth it. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom was well fitted out with everything you would expect. There is also a kitchen for use of all guests with a hob and microwave plus large fridge freezer, great if you bring back leftovers from the huge restaurant meals. The Innkeeper is very helpful and informative and kept the conversation flowing between guests at breakfast which is included in the room rate and delicious. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjb0st0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful time in Newport and spent 3 nights at the Beech Tree Inn. The Inn was charming, spotlessly clean and very comfortable and the enormous breakfast was delicious. The innkeeper was congenial and offered many insider tips on where to go and restaurants to try. The location was close to everything we wanted to see. The mid-week prices were a bargain and we hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Beech Tree Inn and Cottage was wonderful! Three couples ventured to Newport for a weekend among friends. We had three great rooms in the Cottage. The innkeepers were warm, friendly, and more than accommodating. Our rooms were tastefully decorated, immaculate, with all amenities (thick towels, hairdryer, nice soaps and shampoos, Kleenex, good light for reading, very comfortable beds, etc). Irena made a delicious omelet – others ate the French toast and blueberry pancakes with oohs and aahs. They set up a fabulous three hour tour of the city with Tammy and Sam (a native) to give us a taste of the Colonial and Gilded ages in Newport. They also gave us great suggestions for in-depth touring for the following two days. The location of the Inn is ideal – in a quiet neighborhood, but within walking distance to restaurants, pubs, and many shops.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

We came on Saturday and leaving on Monday and I am having a wonder full stay despite the weather the room is spacious with a terrace and a large bath with a jacuzzi the staff is tops and the breakfast is delicious with a variety of choices. It's located near all the sights and easy to get to. The Inn is immaculate throughout the Inn definetly would recommend this to everyone.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

After looking around for a place to spend our long weekend in Newport, we settled on the Beech Tree Inn and couldn't have been happier with our selection. The innkeeper was very friendly and helpful with giving our the "local insight" of places to visit in Newport. The B&B was clean, our room was very comfortable and the breakfast was very good; though, I am not sure about the tag line of "biggest breakfast in town". The only downside is that our room did not have a flat screen TV as shown in some of the pictures, which was a bit of a disappointment.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms on the first floor as you will hear people come in and out of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

My partner and I spent three beautiful days in Newport (her favorite place) to celebrate our anniversary. After looking online at numerous places to stay, we decided on the Beech Tree Inn. First of all, I loved the look of the rooms and the feeling of the house. Second, the prices were great. Third, I had a lovely conversation with the owner, who was friendly and very charming. My partner and I decided to stay two nights in a smaller room, and then have our final night in the nicest suite.

Since we went in March when it was not as crowded, the lovely owner upgraded us to their most beautiful suite for the entire time. His sincere hospitality was incredibly refreshing. Our room was clean, beautiful, incredibly big, and perfect for an anniversary. With an electric fireplace, our own balcony, and a spacious bathroom, it was a gorgeous room.

The breakfasts were also fabulous. They had juices and cereals galore, as well as personalized breakfast choices. We both fell in love with the waffles.

The parking was also great. It was a 10 minute (very scenic) walk from the center of Newport, surrounding by beautiful other houses.

My partner and I will definitely stay at the Beech Tree Inn again! My parents are visiting Newport soon and they have already decided to stay at the Beech Tree Inn as well.

A wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Choose the red room or the blue room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,924 reviews
0.8 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.7 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.7 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Farge Perry House
La Farge Perry House
#6 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Tree Inn and Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Tree Inn and Cottage

Property: Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Address: 34 Rhode Island Ave, Newport, RI 02840-2609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beech Tree Inn and Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beech Tree Inn & Cottage offers bright rooms with Private Bath, Flat screen cable TV, Air-conditioning, Free Wi-Fi, Free parking, and a Big Breakfast, hot-off-the-grill. Walk to town center. Located in quiet historic neighborhood. Family & pet friendly by arrangement. AAA 3-diamond rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Beech Tree Inn and Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Tree Inn And Cottage Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing