We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twisted Flavor”
Review of Salvation Cafe

Salvation Cafe
Ranked #25 of 233 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Salvation Cafe offers fireside dining in the winter and award winning al fresco dining in the Summer. Voted "Best Restaurant, Newport" by Providence Phoenix 2012 & 2013. Our summertime raw bar menu is available in our outdoor tiki bar. Enjoy a lobster roll & our famous Coconut Mojitos or join us for Sangria & Sunsets after a day at the beach! Parking is available in lot behind restaurant.
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Twisted Flavor”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The interior of the Salvation Cafe is very nicely done although very loud. We were not impressed at all with the food and were trying to figure out where the chef was going with the flavors of spices used in our food. Its a little overboard with the mixture of flavor of spices to be different which ruined the food. Would not go for dinner there again but a nice place for drinks. We are also big wine drinkers with dinner and they lack a wine list that is worthy of being a wine list.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank AngelaBosco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewportBuddy, Owner at Salvation Cafe, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Sorry that you were disappointed with your food experience. The chef and I work together to create the menu so if it felt "twisted" I'm not surprised! You are so right about the sound and the wine list, I am working on them both. Thanks for your input and since you like the drinks, I hope you'll try our out door tiki bar this summer for a coconut mojito or sunset sangria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    95
    25
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Delicious Blend of Traditional with a Twist”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We loved the Salvation Cafe. The dinner was exquisite. I had a gnocchi special that it was tantalizing. Our table also had a salmon dish that was perfectly grilled and with the added fried spinach it was a flavor party. The atmosphere was great. However, if you want a quieter dinner experience make sure you sit in the back room and not next to the bar. This is a restaurant that we will drive from Providence to simply have a great meal.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Armesto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewportBuddy, Owner at Salvation Cafe, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Wow, thanks so much. What did we do to deserve the bounty of Providence lately? Last Saturday night it seemed every person in the place was from Providence which was quite a compliment because you have a ton of great places to choose from in your fair city. I'm glad you could make it down south for us, let's do a beach day / sunset sangria / raw bar session when it gets hot! I really appreciate you taking the time to provide positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Food mediocre and noise level way too high. The eclectic decoration is interesting, but does not overcome the negatives.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Spiral54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewportBuddy, Owner at Salvation Cafe, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
I'm really sorry to hear about your experience. We do offer three dining rooms with differing levels of ambient sound. The back barn dining room is a lil bit country, the front bar dining area is a lil bit rock-n-roll. I hope if you find yourselves back in our neck of the woods you'll give us a chance to make it up to you in terms of us taking better care of your specific tastes. If you do decide to give us a second chance please give me a heads-up at info@salvationcafe.com and I will do my best to make your experience better. I appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
“Great food, also great for events”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've been here 4 times. Each meal has been excellent. Out of all the restaurants I've been to in Newport (I've been to about 30), this one has the nicest interior and vibe. I highly recommend. Moderately priced. Delicious, healthy, high quality ingredients - i.e. salmon and spinach chips, sticky ribs, pad thai with shrimp, cheese platter, kale ceasar.

I recently hosted a cocktails event in their upstairs event room. It is gorgeous. Wood walls. Beautiful lighting. Due to a last minute cancellation by another venue, the Salvation staff had only 24 hours to put my event for 60 people together. They did a great job with delicious food and a wide variety of affordable drinks. Was great for an informal cocktails event. Would be great for a wedding dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nhambley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewportBuddy, Owner at Salvation Cafe, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thanks so much for your feedback and I'm so glad your other venue had to cancel! According to staff reports you guys were an easy, generous & fun group. We were really fortunate to have you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Always great”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I've been going to Salvation Cafe for years now and it is consistently delicious! The drinks are always as good as the food which is important to me. I love their Coconut Lime Rickey cocktail! Over the years there have been different renovations, but the final result is always the same: quirky, cozy and great food! I love the tofu Pad Thai so much that I have to sometimes force myself to try something different. I can't remember every having something that I did not like and I am picky. I love that it isn't a scene and that you can go casually dressed and just enjoy a good meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tavr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewportBuddy, Owner at Salvation Cafe, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thanks for being a long time customer and living through all of our changes with us. It's great to hear that we haven't left old faithful friends behind, we hope to keep it high quality, low-stress for years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salvation Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Salvation Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing