We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great alternative to formal seafood dinner!”
Review of Jade Cricket

Jade Cricket
Ranked #137 of 234 Restaurants in Newport
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
boston, ma
Level Contributor
118 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great alternative to formal seafood dinner!”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We enjoyed a terrific dinner on the deck of the Jade Cricket, which we found strolling down Thames. The L shaped deck sits right on Thames, great for people watching, and features comfy outdoor tables and chairs under red paper lanterns. We brought our own wine and came with kids. Although we were unaware of the corkage fee, at $3 pp it was still a bargain to have a bottle of good wine. Plus, the sun was still shining on the deck and we were all toasty warm.

We had the crab wontons, which were honestly some of the best I have ever had. The inside held real pieces of red crab (which you barely see in wontons these days). We had the Sesame Chicken, Dumplings, and Lo Mein. It was all served hot with generous portions and we had good service. Prices were average and it was a nice change from the typical Newport fare.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisalou216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    12
    5
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Windsor, Ct
Level Contributor
108 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice cozy place”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Went here to celebrate a family birthday, there were 8 in our party. The food was served piping hot, service was friendly & attentive. Just remember it is BYOB and they do charge a per glass corkage fee which is reasonable at $3/per. Everyone fully enjoyed dinner and we even had enough to bring home for lunch the next day.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pilatti1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Jade Cricket”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Very nice decor. Teak, carved doors welcome as you enter. You are seated by welcoming staff who present you with a menu of a variety of good foods. Everything We have eaten here has been fresh, beautifully presented and abundant. It is a BYOB establishment, so do so.

And the prices are reasonable.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernice J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a wonderful surprise- I'll be back soon....”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

You would never know what awaits inside by looking at the exterior of Jade Cricket- be enticed by the flaming torches on the porches (!) and try it- food is Fresh and simple (no bready-saucy old style chinese here) service attentive and portions ample. I'll be back soon for more- and they offer both take out and deliver-well worth it to find a parking space

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rejectsbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Huge lunch portions”
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stopped here looking for a quick lunch while we where on Thames St. We were happily surprised with the atmosphere, service, food, price, and portion size. Our lunches were easily large enough for two meals each. My husband got the general tso chicken and I had the oriental vegetables. They both came with two sides. Both were delicious. We wish we had a chinese place like this near us!

Helpful?
1 Thank alicia4134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jade Cricket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing