We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locals restaurant that deserves a visit”
Review of Scales & Shells

Scales & Shells
Ranked #45 of 269 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Reviewed June 5, 2019

This restaurant is really nice for sea food. It is casual in everything except the food, and the service and even the drinks. The seafood was just great. It was simply prepared but as fresh as you can get seafood. The portions were just fine and you could tell that everyone there was enjoying their dinner. Highly recommend!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 480 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2019

This is another spot we stop at each time we make a trip to Newport. This time we both ordered the wood fired grilled lobster with an ear of grilled corn. It is hard to describe the extra depth of flavor the wood grilling gives to lobster and corn. Strongly reccommended. They do not take advance reservations, but it will be worth the wait if it is busy.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2019 via mobile

Sat at the bar and chatted with the bar tender he suggested the scicilan clams they were delicious!! All their raw seafood is on display, top notch place!!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank AMR_21804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2019 via mobile

Consistent with the restaurant’s history and reputation for fresh seafood, the brunch menu did not disappoint. Raw bar offerings included cherry stones, little necks, oysters and shrimp cocktail. The octopus cerviche was delicious. Seared tuna in the Niçoise salad was perfectly prepared and paired with several veggies and a hard boiled egg. The salmon and asparagus tart was very flavorful. Lastly, the beignets were the perfect dessert, warm, light and flaky. There are several cocktail offerings, and coffees and tea. See the menu attached.
Brunch is available on Saturdays and Sundays 10-2pm.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank mimi32912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2019 via mobile

We first discovered S&S about 15 years ago on our very first visit to Rhode Island. It was some of the best seafood we’ve ever had. On the way back to PA from a wedding in Boston,we decided to stop and stay in R.I. for dinner again at Scales and Shells. My wife was looking forward to the grilled lobster- she said before it was the best lobster she’d ever had. I was torn between two items and went with the broiled salmon and my mother in law had grilled shrimp. We were all completely happy and satisfied with our selections. The only hit was my wife said the grilled vegetable skewers were just ok- but we were there for seafood. I was a little nervous that we’d be let down given the length of time since we were last here, but after the first bite, all was good. Don’t know how long before we will be back through again, but looking forward to visiting again when we do.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank dmh5662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Scales & Shells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing