We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only seafood”
Review of Scales & Shells

Scales & Shells
Ranked #44 of 239 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Kernersville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Only seafood”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We had asked in town for a good seafood restaurant and Scales and Shells was recommended. It was an easy walk from the visitor's center.

My wife and daughter loved their meals and they were not any more expensive than the other restaurants in town. However, they do only serve seafood so if you have folks in your party that don't eat seafood you may want to choose another restaurant or, like we did, stopped and got food for me afterwards. The bread was good!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    112
    81
    22
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Seafood done right”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

The place can be pricy but you won't feel robbed. The food is fantastic and the portions are large.
We both had scallops. She had scampi and I had them in a spicy red sauce. It was cooked and spiced perfect and plenty of scallops. The calamari was good too.
Just be careful to take note if what comes with your meal. Some of the little extras will cost.

Helpful?
Thank Ussubforce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great seafood,but..”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The seafood was great, we had swordfish, scallops and raw oysters. The meal come with one side, for a $28 and $33 dollar meal, I wish it included a two sides. Food was cooked excellent and would most likely go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank victor2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Food good but don't make a menu change”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

If scallops cost 22 and shrimps cost 22, if they say, sure you can have a mix of both, instead, how does that become 32? Or if it does, just tell the customer so they're not surprised. And then the higher priced dish didn't include the salad or the veg kabob, while the cheaper ones did. What's up with that?! Food was tasty, room was quite noisy. Won't go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingredheadct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island USA
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Sea Food ala Italia”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

One of our regular haunts here in Newport Rhode Island. I seem to find myself seldom straying from my favorite meal here though I have on occasion walked a little on the wild side (lol). A cold Grey Goose Spicey Bloody Mary, followed by a dozen Little Neck Clams on the Half Shell. Always fresh, always clean without sand or grit. Next Fried Calamari with a side of Marinara sauce for two. Entry is more likely than not going to be the Linguini in Red Clam Sauce. Always tons of fresh whole clams and I mean a ton. Served to your table in the large Saute' Pan it was prepared in. Service has always bee very good but make sure you get there early if you don't want to wait. It will fill up quickly on heavy nights because everyone else who knows about this place makes it a regular stop too. Try it, I guarantee that you will find something to your liking. Prices are moderately good too for what you get. It can become a little loud at times but that is all part of the atmosphere of this comfortably relaxed dining experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scales & Shells also viewed

 

Been to Scales & Shells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing