We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always love it”

Mamma Luisa Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 239 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Always love it”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Had another wonderful meal at Mamma Luisa. The food is fantastic and it has a wonderfully warm and romantic atmosphere. It is a cut above the average Italian restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cliffsideinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    112
    47
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service, & surroundings!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Not to be missed if you visit Newport and are looking for a nice dinner. Mamma's is centrally located on Thames St. Ina beautiful old building with tons of character. You will be transported back in time as you sit in this old, beautifully decorated home with tasteful Italian mementos throughout, and smaller size dining rooms that provide a beautifully quaint setting.
We visited with another couple, both having traveled frequently to Italy, and one born there. They loved it as much as we did ... Great mix of pasta, vegetable and meat dishes, all beautifully prepared and served.
We are already looking forward to our next visit! Bravo!!!

Helpful?
Thank CEKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“"shy" owner”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

although the food was good, out waiter great, our welcome and departure were less than our expectations!! three of the waitstaff and the owner basically ignored us when we entered...
not because they were busy...but i guess the think they are SO good...they tend to forget they are in the service industry !!! the least the owner (who was standing by the "bar" watching us leave)
could have said something to us...maybe how was everything...or thanks for coming in !!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank artbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I'm not sure where the negative reviews come from. The food was spectacular. The pastas were cooked perfectly, the entrees were flavorful and even though Im not a big sweet eater the desserts were spectacular. It's located in an old house at the far end of Thames Street away from the shopping and is decorated to match - interesting tchachkes all over the walls rather than sleek and minimalist. If I had to find a negative, it would be that the waiter seemed overstretched. All in all, I look forward to having my next meal at Mamma Luisa's soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noank, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Vanderbilt Grace Muse Dining”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

A cold blustery walk from our B&B . The cold ears were worth the trip. The dining room is lit to enhance the experience, neither too bright, nor too dark. A fire glowed in the fireplace. The ambiance is old world luxury. Nice linen cloths, dark napkins or those of us wearing black. Nice touch.
The fixed price menu did not include beverages. Courses were expertly prepared. Lovely plate presentations to please the eye, palate and all bite size. Smoked lobster appetizer was wafting the smoky flavor as soon as server lifted lid off my plate. Small servings followed for each course. The chef sent out several tastings in addition. Overall, paced to savor each course. If you enjoy well- prepared food, artistic preparation, a bit overpriced. Then this is the place for you. I liked it well enough to return. Don't recommend it for families with young children. Romantic, cozy and impressive interior.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karenaprn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamma Luisa Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mamma Luisa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing