We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner for Two: A Special Deal!”

Sardella's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 234 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bellevue Avenue
Description: At Sardella's, we offer award winning cuisine, experienced staff and versatile event rooms. With 6 different private dining rooms, a warm Tuscan atmosphere creates the perfect setting for groups of 20-200! Sardella's is proudly celebrating thirty years of exquisite service and has been voted Best Rehearsal Dinner Location & Best Italian Dishes by the readers of Newport Life Magazine. Have a look at our dining rooms and feel free to call us for more info. Over 30 years ago former Mayor Richard Sardella first opened Barclay's Restaurant. A three room tavern based establishment with no more than 13 items on its menu. Through the years leading up to now, current owners Richard Sardella and Patrick Fitzgerald have transformed a tavern pub based restaurant into one of Newport's oldest full service Italian restaurants. Sardella's specializes in Northern and Southern Italian cuisine. Many of the recipes on the MENU come from the Sardella and Imbriglio family. Each room at Sardella's offers a unique, romantic country setting. In addition, there is al fresco dining during the summer months. Along with dining Sardella's also offers LIVE JAZZ every Wednesday year round with various professional artist from around the country in our front dining room. Sardella's is a multi - time Newport Life Magazine winner for "Best Italian Restaurant" "Best Rehearsal Dinner Location" and current Rhode Island Magazine winner for "Best Rhode Island Italian Restaurant". A favorite of many locals, celebrities, politicians and tourists, Sardella's has made it staple as one of Rhode Island's premier Italian restaurant. Sardella's also features exclusive private rooms large enough to accommodate over 170 guests for a sit down dinner or over 250 for a cocktail reception. For smaller groups, these private rooms are facilitated with retractable awnings positioned to create more intimate venues. Adorned with fine Tuscan decor, each private room remains uniquely versatile for any occasion.
Niantic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Dinner for Two: A Special Deal!”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Last night we celebrated our mini-vacation with dinner at Sardella's, our first visit to this Newport restaurant. Many enticing entrees as well as our choice of a bottle of red or white wine, proved a deal not to be passed over, all for $28. We opted for the pork loin and red mashed potatoes and steamed mussels over linguine in white wine sauce. Crusty Italian bread accompanied the meal. We were quite happy with our selections. Our waitress Jessica was most pleasant and efficient, and the jazz trio playing that night was an added treat. This was definitely our kind of place. Judging from the many locals dining here, we are not alone in our enjoyment of the ambiance, the food and the music.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yankeefans95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    163
    78
    33
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
EAST HAMPTON, CT
Level Contributor
237 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTING”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We have been to Sardella's several times in the past year for special family dinners. We had not been all summer, but we went this weekend. I love their manicotti. It is no longer on the menu, and there is nothing close to it. The service was fine, but the dinner salads are extra, and over priced for just a plate of lettuce. If you are paying $30 for a dinner, you should get a salad. I also was disappointed in the dessert. We ordered a Napolean...which is not a true Napolean. It is something they put together and called an Napolean.

We really like this restaurant, but the changes in the menu were disappointing, and with so many other options in Newport, we will likely go else where next time for our special dinners.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JDumont821984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“We had a great meal!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The service was good ...........The food was great.......The prices were a bit high...However...We would most definitely go back!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
410 reviews
363 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Decent food but a little overpriced”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Ordered the chicken picatta and a side salad along with a glass of Chardonnay wine and dessert which was 2 really small cannoli's and biscotti. The pasta was cooked right, but the chicken breast was just OK, but was a bit tough. The lemon sauce could have been a bit thicker and the flavor was very lemony. Total for my meal was around $56 including tip!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank KidLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST KINGSTON
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sardella's does it again, perfection”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Once again Sardella's put out a wonderful evening of social hour and dinner for a small group, about 30 of us. The waitstaff is second to none, efficient and very attentive to our needs. The food as usual highlighted the affair. I highly recommend Sardella's for any function, large or small.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BRIAN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sardella's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing