We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome - must try!”

Sardella's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 235 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bellevue Avenue
Description: At Sardella's, we offer award winning cuisine, experienced staff and versatile event rooms. With 6 different private dining rooms, a warm Tuscan atmosphere creates the perfect setting for groups of 20-200! Sardella's is proudly celebrating thirty years of exquisite service and has been voted Best Rehearsal Dinner Location & Best Italian Dishes by the readers of Newport Life Magazine. Have a look at our dining rooms and feel free to call us for more info. Over 30 years ago former Mayor Richard Sardella first opened Barclay's Restaurant. A three room tavern based establishment with no more than 13 items on its menu. Through the years leading up to now, current owners Richard Sardella and Patrick Fitzgerald have transformed a tavern pub based restaurant into one of Newport's oldest full service Italian restaurants. Sardella's specializes in Northern and Southern Italian cuisine. Many of the recipes on the MENU come from the Sardella and Imbriglio family. Each room at Sardella's offers a unique, romantic country setting. In addition, there is al fresco dining during the summer months. Along with dining Sardella's also offers LIVE JAZZ every Wednesday year round with various professional artist from around the country in our front dining room. Sardella's is a multi - time Newport Life Magazine winner for "Best Italian Restaurant" "Best Rehearsal Dinner Location" and current Rhode Island Magazine winner for "Best Rhode Island Italian Restaurant". A favorite of many locals, celebrities, politicians and tourists, Sardella's has made it staple as one of Rhode Island's premier Italian restaurant. Sardella's also features exclusive private rooms large enough to accommodate over 170 guests for a sit down dinner or over 250 for a cocktail reception. For smaller groups, these private rooms are facilitated with retractable awnings positioned to create more intimate venues. Adorned with fine Tuscan decor, each private room remains uniquely versatile for any occasion.
MASS
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Awesome - must try!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great Italian food - local owned - friendly atmosphere - great value - will accommodate your needs and wishes. Better than a lot of the "trendy, tourist" expensive restaurants in Newport.

Had the Pasta Prima Vera - delicious! Others had pizza - "extremely good - thin crust" and salads - "generous and tasty'. No complaints - Delicious and generous drinks!

Owned by former Mayor of Newport - a GREAT, LOCAL find. Fantastic Bartender - Keith!!

Do yourself a favor and try this restaurant!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeonaMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    167
    78
    35
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“great restaurant”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

we have been here a handful of times and we love it! the atmosphere is great and the food is delicious! every time we go to newport we plan to have dinner here! Its a great little spot and i would definitely recommend it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bargain deals on Mon.-Weds.”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We enjoyed the $28 special which included a bottle of Merlot, and two dinners: a lovely tilapia for me and pork loin roast for my husband.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sammie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Cusine”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My wife and I came to Newport to see the Mansions, and the wineries but found an EXCELLENT Italian Restaurant-Sardella's. Being that not only am I Italian,but I also am a very good cook of Italian dishes, this was a great meal. Starting with the Calamari, which was tender and plentiful as an appetizer, to the generous serving of salad that my wife had, to the Veal Loretta which came with garlic mash potatoes, which not only was outstanding, but the serving size was more than most restaurants would ever serve you. The waiter we had was very professional and attentive- we were not rushed and we spent a very pleasant 2 hours, enjoying the food, service and drinks. We will be back for sure. Thank you for a wonderful dining experience. To the people with negative comments about this restaurant--first you probably don't know excellent Italian food when you eat it or you just like to complain about everything. Stay home and save your money.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jcal1397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Anniversary Dinner”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We went here to celebrate our one year anniversary dinner. We had been here once before, and were excited to go back. Sardella's didn't disappoint. As a vegetarian, I often have trouble finding dishes to eat at other restaurants in Newport, but not here! I had the torreloni Imbriglio, which was tortelloni stuffed with smoked mozzarella and spinach in a roasted red pepper cream sauce. One word...heavenly!!! We shared the arancini for the appetizer and my husband had the chicken romano, both of which were delicious. The ambiance is great and the service is prompt but not overwhelming. We also felt very comfortable here in jeans, which is not something you can say about other restaurants around town. The only downside is that the dessert menu didn't contain any dishes that jumped out at us, so we didn't order anything. I would like them to have a more exciting dessert menu to complete the experience, but all in all, this is a great Italian restaurant!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AshleyMarie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sardella's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sardella's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing