We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return To Me”

Sardella's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 234 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bellevue Avenue
Description: At Sardella's, we offer award winning cuisine, experienced staff and versatile event rooms. With 6 different private dining rooms, a warm Tuscan atmosphere creates the perfect setting for groups of 20-200! Sardella's is proudly celebrating thirty years of exquisite service and has been voted Best Rehearsal Dinner Location & Best Italian Dishes by the readers of Newport Life Magazine. Have a look at our dining rooms and feel free to call us for more info. Over 30 years ago former Mayor Richard Sardella first opened Barclay's Restaurant. A three room tavern based establishment with no more than 13 items on its menu. Through the years leading up to now, current owners Richard Sardella and Patrick Fitzgerald have transformed a tavern pub based restaurant into one of Newport's oldest full service Italian restaurants. Sardella's specializes in Northern and Southern Italian cuisine. Many of the recipes on the MENU come from the Sardella and Imbriglio family. Each room at Sardella's offers a unique, romantic country setting. In addition, there is al fresco dining during the summer months. Along with dining Sardella's also offers LIVE JAZZ every Wednesday year round with various professional artist from around the country in our front dining room. Sardella's is a multi - time Newport Life Magazine winner for "Best Italian Restaurant" "Best Rehearsal Dinner Location" and current Rhode Island Magazine winner for "Best Rhode Island Italian Restaurant". A favorite of many locals, celebrities, politicians and tourists, Sardella's has made it staple as one of Rhode Island's premier Italian restaurant. Sardella's also features exclusive private rooms large enough to accommodate over 170 guests for a sit down dinner or over 250 for a cocktail reception. For smaller groups, these private rooms are facilitated with retractable awnings positioned to create more intimate venues. Adorned with fine Tuscan decor, each private room remains uniquely versatile for any occasion.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Return To Me”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My wife and I were in from San Diego, staying at the Spring Seasons Inn & Tea Room. We asked Susan, one of the owners, for a recommendation of a local restaurant away from the crowds of Thames Street. One word answer: Sardella's. We walked over to it, went in and it was very busy. The host was going to show us to one of the dinning rooms, but I looked back to the bar area and saw an empty corner booth. I asked if we could have it. After joking with the host, he graciously said it was ours. And it was perfect--away from the not-to-loud noise in the dinning areas, just waht we wanted since this was a special occasion. Our waitress was superb. She told us about the $28 specials for two, including a bottle of wine. I thought for sure it would be a cut down meal and cheap-tasting wine. The young lady waiting on us said, just short of guaranteeing we'd like it, give it a try. Well...the meal and wine were excellent. The desert was fantastic. We met some friends (Newport locals) a bit later in the evening and gave the restaurant rave reviews, to which, they also echoed. Sardellas has now become one of our traveling favorites. Our overall review--The food, the wine, the waitress, the host, the atmosphere, and the very nice music coming out of a speaker above our (which it felt like) private booth, were worth one word: Excellent. Thank you Sardella's for a wonderful evening--from a fellow restauranteer.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardDianaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick F, General Manager at Sardella's Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
bcm2728,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about our restaurant. We appreciate the feedback especially from someone who is in the business. I’m really glad to hear that you enjoyed our 2 for 1 special and that Sardella’s is one your favorite restaurants in Newport. Keeping up with this standard of dining is our main focus and goal. Next time you are in town and going to dine with us please feel free contact me specifically at Patrick@sardellas.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    163
    78
    33
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“real italian”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

we enjoyed the real italian food al fresco with a gentle wine. very good prices and correct food. iThere was a lot of people but they manged it very well in a friendly way.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ddmmBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick F, Manager at Sardella's Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
ddmmBelgium

Thank you for visiting and taking time to write such a nice review about our restaurant. We acknowledge that there are many quality restaurants in town, and we appreciate your business. If there is anything that we can do to improve your experience at Sardella’s please contact me directly at greg@sardellas.com. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Vibes”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I get to Newport several times a year and often dine at Sardella's. The restaurant has a homey feel and the bar area is very inviting. The food is excellent. It is a great spot for good italian food.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank bcm2728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“OK Italian”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Went to Sadella's for a rehersal dinner. We were upstairs which was good for the group but somewhat plain. The balcony was quite nice. The food was just OK with the hors d'oeuvres being very good but the main entres not so much.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravlinJackVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, CT
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Happy party”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Our party of 19 was handled perfectly... Everyone raved about the food (crab cake appetizers were best ever), the service was excellent, the space worked well for our group. I could not be happier that we chose Sardella's.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg P, Manager at Sardella's Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Peggy,

Thank you for the kind words about our food especially the crab cakes. We work tirelessly to ensure that we are serving great food all of the time. We are really glad that you and your guests enjoyed dining in our Pompeii room. We strive to provide great food, exceptional value, and do it with friendly efficient service. I look forward to your next visit. Please contact me if you think of anything that we could improve to make your next experience even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sardella's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sardella's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing