We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pasta Beach

Pasta Beach
Ranked #47 of 232 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
199 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Nice dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Pasta Beach was recommended to us so we took a chance. The place was hopping on a Saturday night and there was a wait for tables. In order to not have to wait we opted to eat at the bar which we have done at many restaurants. I must say they have the most uncomfortable bar stools I have ever sat on...thank goodness I enjoyed the meal or it would have been an awful night. But I digress. My partner and I opted to split one of their ginormous salads (nizzarda), which while fresh and very nice, it was served with a tasteless dressing.

Next we ordered the salmon with grilled vegetables which was also served with some greens and more of that tasteless dressing. The salmon was wonderful and cooked just right. The grilled vegetables were amazing and I have to say I will eat eggplant but don't really care for it -- I liked this eggplant! For the greens we asked if they had any balsamic vinegar and they gave us the balsamic and some oil which was way better than their dressing.

If ever in town again and would eat at Pasta Beach again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RockingGiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    96
    36
    16
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Papillion, Nebraska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small place, very good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

My family of 5 (including a 2 year old with our stroller) ate here at about 4:30 in the afternoon on a weekday. It was good we ate early since it's a small place and we would have been pretty cramped if we came at the normal dinner rush. The kids loved the pizza and my pasta and my wife's (huge) sandwich were delicious. Prices were fair. This is a nice little bistro style place and it's always packed. We will definitely be going back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln,RI,USA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“quick & quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Panini is delicious. I selected the one with chicken. Very skimpy on the chicken but the focaccia was great.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SmilieLincoln_RI_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“No curb appeal but very good Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

FOOD:
The mussels appetizer was delicious and served with a warm baguette.
The salad pleasant.
The pizza is good but the sauces a little sweet and lacking veggies on each piece.
The pasta--Very very Good

STAFF: very friendly and helpful.

ATMOSPHERE:
The curb appeal is terrible but I have heard they are moving. Hopefully, the slower pace will allow the kitchen staff to not serve our salads, bread, and main courses all at the same time. When we asked if we could hold off on our entrees (it had literally been 2-3 minutes) our waiter (very pleasant) responded that the kitchen said it would be bad for the food and asked him to place it on our table. Very disappointing as the tables are cheap and you have no room.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SchiemyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent pasta!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Yes it's small and can get busy but the food is sooo good. I have eaten here several times and not been disappointed. The lasagne was the best I have had and the arrabiata is amazing. I live on the island and avoid Newport during the summer months but pasta beach can lure me to battle the traffic.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lc1434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pasta Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing