We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel dining”
Review of MainSail

MainSail
Ranked #66 of 239 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Visit Mainsail for a contemporary American menu of local New England dishes made from the freshest ingredients. When you're looking to connect or unplug, head to Plank Bar for a relaxed social experience, tantalizing appetizers and well-crafted drinks. The Skiff Bar offers the best view in Newport along with specialty cocktails, craft and local brews and delicious appetizers
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fine hotel dining”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

While Newport offers a wide variety of dining choices Fathoms at the Marriott is worth considering. The fish is excellent, especially the salmon which is best when simply grilled. The wine list is well chosen but pricey ( what restaurant doesn't have a large markup?) and wines by the glass offer a choice of 6 ounces or 9 ounces. The service is good. If possible get a seat at the window so you can look out on the water and watch the boats.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Byron1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    30
    15
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food and convenient”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel three nights while in town for a wedding. We ate in the restaurant three times, initially because the two year old is impatient. The staff went out of their way to accommodate us. Breakfast is a bit pricey, but there are many items and a buffet. Our lunch was eaten at the bar. (I really enjoyed the calamari.) We ate a late breakfast here the last morning. We brought a b-day cake with us. The staff served it, and the presentation included chocolate sauce and strawberries. What a nice way to end our stay.

Helpful?
Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“loved this place”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We came here 3 times during our stay and brought friends with us on one occasion. Everything we tried was superb. We especially enjoyed the scallops, the tuna melt, and the seafood pasta. Service is quick and courteous. Wonderful view from many tables. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank dondedieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great bargains excellent food”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Don't overlook this wonderful hotel restaurant! Its a hidden gem. Many two for the price of one specials including lobster (usually on Tuesdays). Our favorite when in-town restaurants are over crowded.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KPJP14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level 6 Contributor
1,602 reviews
832 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 531 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Hotel Restaurant”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

The restaurant inside the Marriott with a standard fare on its menu. Good seafood along with decent salads, soups, desserts and other entrees. Large enough to accommodate groups yet small enough to allow seating for two by the window looking out on the harbor. Good bar with a decent crowd on weekends. Professional and efficient wait staff.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffl499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MainSail also viewed

 

Been to MainSail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing