We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, service, location”
Review of The Mooring

The Mooring
Reserve with OpenTable
The Mooring is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 235 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $80
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: America's Cup Ave.
Description: The ideal embodiment of Newport dining: the freshest seafood, al fresco seating, expansive harbor views, and warm hospitality. Our award-winning wine list is one of the most acclaimed in New England.
Franklin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, service, location”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

I went to this restaurant with my family of 8. We wanted to sit outside but it was already full at noon. They gave us a table next to the window. The food was excellent. Everyone was pleased with their meal. I ordered the Salmon, which was delicious. My husband ordered oysters and loved them. I would definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FranklinMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,323
    743
    223
    76
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great, location, food and service.”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

There are many waterfront dining options in Newport but the Mooring is firing on all cylinders. Without reservations we were still treated like valued guest, seated directly on the water, a seasoned waiter, and excellent food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place to spend an afternoon”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

The atmosphere, service and food are all great treats for a summer afternoon. The seafood entre's are great and the beverages are unique. I highly recommend a visit to the Mooring when you are in Newport.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolcott
2 reviews
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We were greeted with a smile and were accommodated. (Traveled with a three month old)

Erin was was very attentive and very efficient!

Must haves:

Doughnuts!

Food was fantastic!

Helpful?
Thank DC5Romeo209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Some good, some awful”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

There are some really good things about The Mooring; 1. the staff are friendly, quick & efficient 2. the outside deck is great w/ wonderful views 3. the lobster croissant is really tasty w/ lots of meat on a fresh, tasty croissant although there were way too many dry tips for my liking. However thats not enough to overcome some of the issues: 1. expensive parking- $15 for a 1 hr meal is a bit much 2. the fried oysters w fried pickles were downright offensive- seriously- how can they justify 4 nickel sized oysters, overly breaded & salted hidden amongst a bed of fried pickles- all w/ Wellfleet- home of the world's choicest oysters- just a stones throw away!!! I can't forgive that.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mooring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing