We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch in Newport”
Review of The Mooring

The Mooring
Reserve with OpenTable
The Mooring is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 235 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $80
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: America's Cup Ave.
Description: The ideal embodiment of Newport dining: the freshest seafood, al fresco seating, expansive harbor views, and warm hospitality. Our award-winning wine list is one of the most acclaimed in New England.
Montana USA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lunch in Newport”
Reviewed December 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We had lunch for 4 at the Moorings. Everyone enjoyed their food and service excellent. The waterfront view adds a special ingredient to any occasion.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank liveoncemt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,323
    743
    223
    76
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amityville, New York, USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“super fresh seafood”
Reviewed December 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Not only was the seafood super fresh and delicious the decor of the Mooring was beautifully done and waterfront location stunning.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Magistra72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Seaside dining in Newport Harbor”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Newport, Rhode Island boasts many fine restaurants, but the Mooring offers wonderful cuisine with a spectacular view of the harbor and the surrounding sights. The restaurant is decorated in a nautical theme with outside dining available when weather permits. The menu has numerous selections not just for fish lovers, but also for diners who prefer meat or vegetarian choices. The chef will accommodate dietary restrictions very willingly. Start with the bag of doughnuts, one of their signature selections. Deep fried shellfish that are so decadent! The fish and chips are ample and tasty. The specials are always a sure hit. Side dishes are well prepared and the wine list is very reasonable. Servers are knowledgeable and courteous. We were celebrating a birthday, and our server brought us a fabulous chocolate dessert on the house. The location of the restaurant is ideal, right next to Bannister's Wharf. Parking is available onsite.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank circe64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Really outstanding food. Great service. Ate on the water. Will definitely go back when we come back to Newport. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank rubynyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Level 6 Contributor
341 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great oysters in Newport Rhode Island”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We visited Newport for the first time in early October. We didn’t have a lot of time so after a drive along mansion row (Ocean Drive), we headed straight for Bannister’s wharf, which is the main tourist haunt in downtown Newport. The Mooring Restaurant is right next to Bannister’s Wharf, literally in the adjacent parking lot. We already had a recommendation to eat here if we could, so we made a lunch reservation as soon as we arrived at 11:30 AM. After strolling around the wharf, we went for lunch at about 12:30. The place was empty when we arrived, but quite full when we left at 2 PM.

The food was great, the service was friendly, the atmosphere very nautical with a great view of the harbor, but the best part was the fresh oyster bar. To begin, I had an absolutely wonderful scallop chowder and then a portion of 6 fresh oysters on the half shell. They have about 10 different varieties. I tried 3 kinds (2 of each) and liked them so much ordered a couple more. It was like tasting wine, each with its own distinctive texture and taste.

My wife had pasta with seafood which the chef customized to her wishes and tastes, and all in all it was a wonderful lunch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sssteveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mooring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing