We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food with a good view”
Review of The Mooring

The Mooring
Reserve with OpenTable
The Mooring is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 239 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $80
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: America's Cup Ave.
Description: The ideal embodiment of Newport dining: the freshest seafood, al fresco seating, expansive harbor views, and warm hospitality. Our award-winning wine list is one of the most acclaimed in New England.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good food with a good view”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

It was our first night in Newport and we wanted water front and the mooring delivered. Our waitress was friendly enough and the food was pretty good I got the fish and chips and good two very large pieces of fish not a lot of fries though. We warned parking is $20 DOLLARS AFTER 5PM insane try to find parking elsewhere if there's places available use the parking meters on the brick road across the way.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShadowAce888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,356
    752
    227
    77
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Gluten free's Well Catered for”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Tried to make a reservation, and was offered only 4.30pm or 9.00, however was advised to just call in, which we did about 6.00pm. We immediately got a table on the patio and were served promptly. An invitation to those who are gluten free to ask for their own menu was on the original menu, and I did that. It was extensive! I chose the crab cake, it was delicious with a nice amount of spice, whilst hubby had the regular clam chowder, which was very filling. For mains, he had the smaller lobster, which was beautifully served with drawn butter. I had the yellow fin tuna, cooked rare which was divine. A beautiful NZ Sauvignon blanc (Villa Maria) complimented the seafood very well.

Helpful?
Thank WallysMissus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious seafood!”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

By far, one of the best seafood restaurants in New England. My husband and I are seafood lovers, and we both agree that the Mooring is one of the best. The raw bar had oysters and clams that just arrived from the fishing boat, beautifully displayed, and quickly served. We shared some very unique seafood appetizers, that we're incredibly tasteful. Without a doubt, the mussels were the best we've ever had. My main course was seared scallops that were "melt in your mouth" fabulous. The wine list is extensive with a great variety. The Mooring will be our restaurant whenever we're in Newport, RI.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wethersfield, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice meal with excellent service and views!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Made a reservation during busy Columbus Day weekend and asked for a nice table which they provided. Started with the clam chowder (lots of clams) and salad. The filet mignon was excellent as was the seafood pie (lots of lobster). The service was really top notch as our waitress was attentive without being pushy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank capecodtraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“What a beautiful place & GREAT location!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had a wonderful lunch on the deck on an absolutely beautiful October day. The setting was so fantastic even if the food wasn't really good (which it was!) I might still want to go back. I have food allergies and having a server that was knowledgeable and very helpful makes eating out fun, instead of the challenge I often find it to be.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane3505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mooring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing