We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful restaurant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mooring

The Mooring
Reserve with OpenTable
The Mooring is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 232 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Scenic view, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: America's Cup Ave.
Description: The ideal embodiment of Newport dining: the freshest seafood, al fresco seating, expansive harbor views, and warm hospitality. Our award-winning wine list is one of the most acclaimed in New England.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

A very tastefully appointed restaurant on the water. Our server was excellent. I'm so glad he suggested that we try the "bag of donuts". We won't soon forget how delicious they were!! We split the seafood pasta (lobster, scallops, shrimp and angel hair). At $41 it was definitely big enough for two to split. It tasted so fresh. I am totally impressed with The Mooring!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,194
    680
    207
    70
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
124 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Classy Seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stopped by for restaurant week with a group of 9. The atmosphere is great -- nice, upscale meets typical wharf-side shack -- and the food was pretty good. The restaurant week prices were fantastic, though the regular priced menu items are not as cheap.

We had raw oysters (yum), the chowder (yum), some local beer (yum) and a combination of mains. Linguine with clams were basic but good. Baked oysters were fantastic. Looking at their regular menu, I'm actually disappointed we didn't try more. The donuts (fritters) are supposed to be amazing. In any case, it was a great visit and everyone left satisfied.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil_Yeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
127 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Seafood to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We enjoyed our 5 year anniversary dinner here and loved the food. The seafood is so fresh and prepared wonderfuly. The atmosphere is classic nautical as well as being cozy. Service is good too. We will be back when in the area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank emtrip27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tolland, Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Have to try the donuts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were told by the concierge at the Marriott that recommended this restaurant for dinner that we had to try the donuts (that's what they're called on the menu, but they're really clam, lobster and shrimp fritters) and we completely agree. They were fantastic and I'd definitely pass along that recommendation.

I had the pork tenderloin on the regular menu and it was great too. My husband had a steak special that was good, but he didn't like the parmesan fries. The kids menu was typical, but it pleased them.

Great décor and friendly staff. Would definitely recommend and would return.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KimB1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford CT
Level Contributor
109 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food, worth the price, outstanding view, first class all around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

I was here on a Monday night, right at sunset, so the views were spectacular. But the view is not the only great part about the Mooring, since the food I had was exceptional. I had the roasted beet salad, swordfish and sorbet with a cup of espresso. Great attention to detail. Service was excellent. Prompt and swift service. Front desk and manager had great attitudes, helpful and positive. Clean. Interior very classy, they do a great job and it's a busy place. My experience here was first rate. Great atmosphere. Fantastic meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mal723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mooring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing