We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was good food”

La Forge Casino Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 233 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Seafood, Soups, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Jasper, Tennessee
Level Contributor
128 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Was good food”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I had lunch there. It was not crowded but the wait service seemed to be slow. I noticed that my server was drinking water out of a gallon plastic jug near the bar.. what! The food was good

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mossy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    136
    51
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Farmingdale, Maine
Level Contributor
185 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Had to return”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We ate dinner in the Casino room and were so satisfied we went back the next day and had lunch on the closed in porch overlooking the Tennis Hall of Fame Courtyard. Everything we had was delicious. It was quiet and relaxing and the view was beautiful. Our waitress was top notch. We highly recommend this resturant for either lunch or dinner. Plus it has an Irish Pub. Can't go wrong here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hacheta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
244 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“La Forge was so good we ate Lunch and Dinner There”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We found La Forge Casino Restaurant by chance riding around Newport. There was a large parking lot across the street so it was very convenient. We ate lunch out on a porch overlooking the Tennis Hall of Fame Courtyard. The Thanksgiving croissant with fries was excellent. The service was great. When we left we decided to come back for dinner because it was so nice and the parking was so easy. We both had the Filet Mignon and ordered it medium rare. It was over 3 inches high and perfectly cooked. It melted in your mouth. I had a good side salad and we both had butternut squash. We did not have room for dessert. The restaurant is over 40 years old but it is well kept and seemed to be filled with a lot of locals. We would go back again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GRITSMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“average and expensive”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

For the price that was paid for a lunch, we were not that impressed. I ordered the lunch special and the sandwich was a white piece of bread that was toasted and cold. I had to ask for mayo because the sandwich was so dry. The french fries were cold when they arrived at the table.
The service was very slow and we even not only had to ask for the bill, but after a period of time we had to ask to have the bill processed.
There are much better places in Newport to spend money for lunch. Overall, not a very good experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lammie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A good local place.”
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

I was on town for a meeting and stopped in here for a late dinner because there was a parking place right on front. A pleasant surprise. Service efficient without being cloying. Food above my expectation, especially the oysters Rockefeller.all very low key and enjoyable with the sounds of Newport version of Bobby Mercer wafting on from the bar.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Forge Casino Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Forge Casino Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing