We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice restaurant”

Restaurant Bouchard
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant Bouchard is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 232 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: At Bouchard Restaurant, a warm relaxed ambiance and gracious welcome signals your arrival. The restaurant serves fine French cuisine in a 1785 Georgian-style house.
new city ny
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Beautiful atmosphere, sublime appetizers (pate, escargots (sauce to die for!). The stuffed lobster was not as wonderful as I thought it would be, but it was still very good. My husband's beef Wellingon was excellent. My only complaint was the service was first rate until after our dinners. Then we waited a ridiculously long time before anyone even asked us if we wanted dessert, almost 45". I was getting really annoyed. Finally the owner came over to make nice, which helped. It was like our waiter completely forgot about us. The place was not full, but he was waiting on everyone else but us. We know what fine dining is, we live in NYC, and this was NOT that. So, does Bouchard's deserve it's best in Newport rating, yes, but...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank charp52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    698
    92
    36
    19
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new city ny
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Beautiful atmosphere, sublime appetizers (pate, escargots (sauce to die for!). The stuffed lobster was not as wonderful as I thought it would be, but it was still very good. My husband's beef Wellingon was excellent. My only complaint was the service was first rate until after our dinners. Then we waited a ridiculously long time before anyone even asked us if we wanted dessert, almost 45". I was getting really annoyed. Finally the owner came over to make nice, which helped. It was like our waiter completely forgot about us. The place was not full, but he was waiting on everyone else but us. We know what fine dining is, we live in NYC, and this was NOT that. So, does Bouchard's deserve it's best in Newport rating, yes, but...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charp52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Did not feel welcome”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

My husband and I very recently visited this restaurant, to celebrate our anniversary. Reservations for a weekday were made early on the day, and we arrived within about 5 minutes of our reservation time.

Well, we stood in the entryway for several minutes, without anyone in the place acknowledging our arrival. My husband actually took out his cell phone to call and make their phone in the front entryway ring, thinking that someone would finally come to the entryway to at least answer the phone...but no luck. Another couple came in a few minutes later, and after a few additional minutes, someone finally came to seat us.

When they seated us, it was without menus or anything else. Well, we then waited 15 minutes (yes, by this time I was timing our waits...) for the waiter to acknowledge us and bring us menus. And there were absolutely no apologies of any kind for the wait. We then waited another 5+ minutes for just a glass of water! So, we were seated at our table for a full 20 minutes before anyone came to just give us a glass of water. We were probably at our table for at least 25 minutes before our order was taken for both wine and food.

Food was very good, no problems there. Appetizers and wine came in a reasonable time, but the dinners again took longer than usual to arrive. But I was so angry about all the waiting, especially since no one in the restaurant even apologized or tried to make up for it, that it overshadowed the food. Our waiter was rather pretentious, and totally oblivious to our discomfort. He acted like everything was perfect.

Food may have been great, but service was atrocious. And the place had a couple of empty tables - did not look overly busy. We are local to the area, but I would be hard-pressed to return to this restaurant, given the way we were treated.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank TallCanadianGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Community of Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
340 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Felt like young people were not welcome!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed at Bouchard inn for our wedding anniversary and also had dinner at Bouchard restaurant that night. It is a posh place and we knew it, in fact we were expecting it, and we were dressed appropriately. We were looking forward to a nice posh dinner with a good wine and some champagne, it was our anniversary!. Since we got in the waiters were looking at us as if we were out of place; we had booked a table months in advance as it was part of our road trip through New England and still were given an awful table in a corner. Our waiter did not allow us to have one of the dishes as it was too expensive (?!) and when we asked about a certain wine he said it was not worth it and we should choose a cheaper one. The last drop was when he suggested that we shared dessert because they were big enough and that way we would pay less.
The food was ok but the looks from everyone, the table and the rude waiter made our night a bit of a nightmare.
Avoid this place if you are or look in your 30's.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Eirey26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
222 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Simply Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We try to get to Bouchard every couple of months. From the moment you walk in the serene atmosphere envelopes you in another world. Dan our server who is at this point like a member of our family, brings the most perfect cocktails or a lovely glass of wine. The dinner menu will only leaving wondering what you should have the next visit. This time, my husband started with the beet salad , the coffee crusted duck and as it was our anniversary we were brought a cheese tasting. I had the Roquefort salad, the rack of lamb that melted in your mouth and the cheese. The atmosphere, the professionalism cannot be surpassed. Then we stay upstairs in the inn which is comfortable, easy and just a few steps away from a fabulous dinner to a good nights sleep. Very Special!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trigger1070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Bouchard also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Bouchard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing