We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice for lunch”
Review of The Spiced Pear

The Spiced Pear
Reserve with OpenTable
The Spiced Pear is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 239 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Cliff Avenue
Description: The Spiced Pear’s primary dining room features an open-air kitchen, grand fireplace, and views of the Atlantic Ocean and Easton’s Beach. Well known for its signature ‘New England Tasting Menu’, the restaurant features a symphony of six or nine courses of local New England fare each night in addition to an a la carte menu featuring Continental cuisine.
New England
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“An excellent choice for lunch”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

A lot of high notes, but a couple of sour notes as well. The view on the patio is wonderful and the food was very good. Nice wine list. The missed note: we walked in and were asked where we wanted to sit. As it was a beautiful day we said on the patio. The woman said there would be a wait, but we could go to the patio bar. We sat down but there was no bartender. After waiting we went over to another maitre d’ who found the bartender, then he asked it we wanted a table. It seems one person controls the inside and one the outside and, at least that day, they were not communicating. We had to get on his list. In their defense, they did provide complimentary glasses of wine. We will be back.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 124C41NewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    85
    39
    21
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nicest restaurant ever”
Reviewed June 29, 2011

My wife and I stopped by the Spiced Pear for lunch after taking the cliff walk. I read about it on trip advisor and was thinking of going there so we stopped in for lunch. The view was tremendous and we were able to sit down right away on the patio. We split a salad and a crab cake sandwich, both were amazing and perfect for lunch. The view was the best in Newport. We also chekced the inside out and it lookeed liek one of the nicest hotesl we have ever been to. The service was nice and not pretentious for how nice this lace was. Wanted to go back for dinner, but the menu is limited.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tklos1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Price of the View”
Reviewed June 22, 2011

I dragged my partner to the Spiced Pear. We had gone only once before, which is rare for foodies in a small town. We usually hold our noses for all but the worst restaurants and go with hope over experience.

She was relishing my potential failure. The wonderful phrase, "remember when you picked that awful place", is fun always a reliable tease. So at least I went with trepidation

Fortunately I was not tortured. The judgement was that it was adequate. The soup and the oysters were eatable. The fish well cooked and the desert, a crepe, well, let's just leave it with the appetizers and the fish.

The problem with the Spiced Pear is the cost. It is no doubt the most expensive restaurant in Newport and it fits my personal commandment that the better the view, the worse the food.

Great views are part of the price. The Spice Pear has one. So if you don't mind dropping over $200 for an alright dinner and a mediocre wine in order to seduce your partner with the beauty of the view, this place is for you

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xTallyrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most Fantastic Dining Experience In Memory”
Reviewed December 7, 2010

Four of us recently went for the 6 course tasting menu. Each course was creative and innovative without being "precious" which is a common problem with high end cuisine. The menu focused on in season and local ingredients and were prepared immecably with great attention to presentation although taste was supreme. Service was meticulous without being over bearing. We did splurge on the tasting menu but it was well worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmslom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport RI
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Reaching Too Far”
Reviewed November 23, 2010

We haven't been back to the Chanler for almost two years, after having some seriously unsatisfactory experiences with pretentious chefs (Richard Hamilton and Kyle Ketchum) who didn't quite live up to their own inflated sense of "greatness".
So, after hearing that the latest star chef had departed and the dining was better, we gave it a try with another couple. It was a mixed bag.
The pretentiousness has gone, but the prices remain too high for the value received. It's a good/average restaurant in Newport that is trying to promote itself as one of the best. It's not. They are an adequate hotel restaurant, but with a long way to go to be a memorable experience.
We had two bottles of wine we had to return, spoiled. We had luke warm soup, salad greens that had seen better days, entrees that were variable between excellent and just ok, and desserts that were fine, but not memorable. All this for a price that is among the highest in local restaurants.
The service was barely adequate, the server tried hard, but was simply inexperienced and not ready for a fine dining venue. The setting is wonderful, great views (we were there before daylight saving ended), though the furnishings are beginning to show some need for replacement.
Altogether, it is a big step forward from the former "circus" they had here, but they need to get their prices aligned with their level of food and service. We may try again next summer, for the outdoor dining at lunch, if they continue to improve their value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LocalObserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenChanler, Manager at The Spiced Pear, responded to this review, December 2, 2010
Dear LocalObserver,

From all of us at The Chanler and the Spiced Pear, we thank your for your candid account of your dining experience with us. We are happy to hear that you feel the pretentious atmosphere has departed, as that has been a goal of of ours this year. For the areas we fell short, we actually had recognized them earlier in the season, and have taken steps to correct them.

In particular, we apologize for the inadequate service and wine experience. You may be excited to hear that at the end of this summer season, we began a full audit and rebuilding of a new wine program that concluded in November and also in November hired a new service manager with several decades of experience to ensure proper training and service from all of our staff. It is our hopes that you visit us soon - we are confident you will not be disappointed again!

Sincerely,
The Staff at The Chanler at Cliff Walk and Spiced Pear Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Spiced Pear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing