We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lobster Roll!!!”

22 Bowen's Wine Bar & Grille
Reserve a Table
2
Today
8:00 PM
Ranked #18 of 269 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: America
Description: 22 Bowen's evokes Newport with its charm and sense of place. It's a classic harbor side tavern, rich in texture and tradition; a place with sophisticated charm, defined by its casual elegance, indulgent food, classic drinks and warm, genuine hospitality. Step into the past and the present and be part of the scene at the City by the Sea's premier waterfront dining destination. During the iconic summer season visit Portside, the perfect place to relax at our open-air bar or enjoy al fresco dining, soaking up the sun and liveliness of Newport's harbor front.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed lunch here as we were in search of a lobster roll. We were not disappointed. They offer both hot and cold versions. Service was very good. It was clear that they were training new staff, and all worked smoothly. Would definitely return.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank 245rosies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at 22 Bowen's Wine Bar & Grille, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you245rosies! We are glad your lobster roll search ended successfully (and deliciously). Thank you for the review and we hope you do come back again soon.
Gratefully,
Michael Doctor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,590)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 1,590 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2019

Stopped in for lunch after our cruise and e were seated outside on the upper floor. Wife had the lobster roll which was very good. French onion was also great

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Benzman79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at 22 Bowen's Wine Bar & Grille, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2019

Thank you Benzman79! We are always glad when we can provide our cruise travelers a great meal in Newport. Thanks for choosing us and glad you enjoyed.
Gratefully,
Michael Doctor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2019 via mobile

We enjoyed everything about our visit! We were unbelievably lucky and got a table right away, despite the busy dinner crowd. Our waiter, Manny, was a top notch professional, and highly recommended for his professionalism and personality. My husband and I had perfectly prepared steak, also a nice change from the popular seafood in Newport. In addition, we were lucky to be there during soft shell crab season, and their appetizer special was to die for. Highly recommend, and will definitely be back next time we visit Newport!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank ShelbyZ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at 22 Bowen's Wine Bar & Grille, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2019

Thank you ShelbyZ3! It is quite an honor to be considered in your top ten. You were in great hands with Manny and undoubtedly that had a positive effect on your experience. We are of course pleased that your meals were so good too. Thank you for sharing and we look forward to seeing you next time.
Gratefully,
Michael Doctor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2019

Both the outside chalkboard and printed menu (and the website menu) lists "Warm or Cold Lobster Roll". Really looking forward to a warm lobster roll for dinner, we ordered it only to have the waitress come back reporting the chef only makes it warm for lunch. Horrible on several levels. If availability is limited, why not say so on the menu. Certainly erase it from the chalkboard. How can the waitress not know that the chef limits this to lunch - very poor communication. If they are too cheap to update the menu, the non-availability of menu items should be the first thing told to the customer. What kind of a chef cannot be bothered to warm up lobster roll for their customer - poor service.

We left without eating.

They boast of "warm, genuine hospitality". FAIL.

The Trip Advisor "Owner Verified" In-Between menu lists the Chilled New England Shellfish Sampler for only $9950.00. Pricey.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Service
1  Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at 22 Bowen's Wine Bar & Grille, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2019

Dear Tom,
Sorry to hear you were disappointed. We know what it’s like to be craving something only to find out is not available. We do not serve the warm lobster roll at dinner service - only during our lunch service. To try and accommodate you, your server excused herself to go see if Chef had the mise en place in order to make the item specially for you, but he did not so we were unable to make it for you at that time. We will always do our best to accommodate our guests where we can. We'd be happy to make it for you during our lunch period. In regard to the menu prices on TripAdvisor, that’s an error from whatever algorithm they use for loading the menus. We are working on correcting it, but obviously the price was listed incorrectly.
Sincerely,
Michael Doctor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2019

22 Bowen's is one of Newport's best restaurants, offering a variety of exceptional steak and seafood options. Their service is also absolutely wonderful and they serve up one of the best Dirty Martinis in Newport! Opt for a table outside if available and enjoy views of the sailboats and wharf.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank catharinenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at 22 Bowen's Wine Bar & Grille, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2019

Thank you catharinenyc! We really appreciate the kind review and are honored to be considered one of the best in town. Glad you enjoyed and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Gratefully,
Michael Doctor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 22 Bowen's Wine Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing