We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the stop.”
Review of Black Pearl

Black Pearl
Reserve with OpenTable
Black Pearl is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 239 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $55
Cuisines: American, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Worth the stop.”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Came with a group of friends. A few have been coming for years for their famous clam chowder - they said it's the best anywhere. I had the chilled beet and ginger soup. Would love the recipe! Service was good - food really good. Newport RI is a charming town.

Helpful?
Thank shesailedvictory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    464
    459
    227
    82
    75
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Clam Chowder, Great location, Rest of Food Average”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed the chowder here - best bit of the meal. Told later by a local that it's the best! (You can also get it as a takeout which is lovely too - sit by the harbour side and watch the boats.). The rest of the food we had was average American style sandwiches/burgers with fries. Service good apart from dizzy blonde hostesses organising the tables at the entrance to the outside seating. Location is superb and the outside seating area has a lively vibe to it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank kjbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old Newport Restaurant”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

While staying in Newport we decided to have dinner at the Black Pearl, a restaurant we visited 15 years ago. Sadly much has not changed. The Commodore Room's décor is much as we remembered it and needs a little updating. Although the food was very good, the $200.00 bill for four with only 1 glass of wine was a little hefty for subpar service. We had to ask to have our water glasses refilled and felt the food was just given to us with no one ever asking if everything was to our satisfaction.

We should have eaten the same meal on their outside patio for far less. Great clam chowder!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PLeonard777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
414 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“FISHTASTIC FOOD”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Loved this food so ate dinner twice in the 5 days I was here. Had halibut the 1st evening. Yum yum delicious. Hot flavorful NOT dry just right with a lovely delicate flavor. Even the broccoli was great. Always started with a dozen oysters for us 3 gals. Slurpy divine! Following evening I had their stripped sea bass WOW it was with tomato and basil but perfectly seared no heavy sauce just the right marriage of flavors and hot steaming hot through and through, heaven in my mouth! Sisters had scallops, she loved and another the grilled skewer. Of shrimp and lobster I think. This food was EXCELLENT. We ate indoors. Had a grt waitress, rose on the table and delicious drinks, vodka for me wine for the sisters. Rolls are tasty & both nights we were the last to lease the restaurant. Recommend this place, it's great great food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 59galtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Kisco, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Famous Fun Spot on the Dock”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

The best New England clam chowder I ever had! The burgers are terrific as well, and desserts to die for! The waitstaff is very friendly yet efficient and go out of their way to make your dining experience a pleasure! You can also buy the clam chowder to take home!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sally K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Pearl also viewed

 

Been to Black Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing