We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“... but it really IS the "best" chowdah”
Review of Black Pearl

Black Pearl
Reserve with OpenTable
Black Pearl is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 239 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $55
Cuisines: American, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Boxborough, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“... but it really IS the "best" chowdah”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Traveled with a group from a local church, mostly older folks. All I heard was positive. I just had a bowl of clam chowder because I heard (like everywhere else) it was "the best blah blah blah"... but it really was excellent. Different from what I am used to- the really thick-ish, creamy chowder you usually get in N.E. It was more of a broth-based chowder, but jacked with clams and delicious. They don't stuff it with potatoes to save money either.

We sat outside on the patio, which was beautiful. I actually thought of writing this review today because I had chowder at another restaurant in town and it was a far cry from what these guys served up.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Korte Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    464
    459
    227
    82
    75
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“good food but overpriced”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

I rated this higher because the food was very good but the portions were small for the prices. We ate in the tavern for dinner which was $56 for two entrees and one salad with no beverages or dessert. The location was right on the wharf but the tavern doesn't have much of a view and no view of the water. The service was very good and our server was knowledgeable about how the dishes were prepared.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank crisr506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Classic”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I loved the setting on the wharf and the classic rustic New England look. We sat in the Tavern section. The service was excellent, precise, and speedy. It was an obviously well-trained staff. I liked the food but it was not my favorite meal ever. The kale salad was delicious with a lemon mustard dressing. The rolls were unremarkable. The Brochette of Shrimp and Sea Scallops had a strong grilled flavor and was cooked to perfection in that slightly under-done way. The sauce was not very interesting. My husband got a trout special with dill hollandaise. He said the fish was perfect. The sauce was too heavy so he pushed most of it off. You can substitute baked potato for rice or french fries if you want.
There is no batter-fried "fish and chips" on the menu- everything is broiled or grilled.
For great service and fresh food this is an excellent choice.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Grab a bowl of chowder on the wharf”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

This chowder is so good, they actually sell a condensed version to take home! It had a thinner consistency than I was used to but it actually had loads of clams in it! They don't overfill it with potato's or other items. We sat inside to get out of the sun but they had a number of patio's on the wharf, if you prefer to eat outside.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scstar2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Pricy and just okay”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Had to come here since everyone kept recommending it. Ate in the tavern, outside area was full and there aren't that many tables with umbrellas. Shrimp cocktail, not fully deveined and $4 per shrimp pricey. Had the famous chowder and to lived up to its rep,creamy with a very good taste. Tuna melt sandwich on English muffin with cheese and was very good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Parsippany1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing