We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we enjoyed the visit.”
Review of Black Pearl

Black Pearl
Reserve with OpenTable
Black Pearl is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 234 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $55
Cuisines: American, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
New Orleans
Level Contributor
171 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“we enjoyed the visit.”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We went for lunch on a busy August Sunday. The place was crammed so we weren't able to get a table with a view. But the place has some atmosphere, a historic inn feel & the food was fine. Service was ok too. I'd return on a less busy time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traflagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    444
    216
    76
    74
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
137 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Best. Clam. Chowder. Ever.”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I'm serious, I eat it everywhere I go and this is the hands down winner. I mean it is just perfect, not too creamy, not too runny, just the right amount of everything and sooo buttery! I had what I thought was the best chowder last summer in Kennebunkport, Maine. I won't name the place, their chowder is killer and I thought it couldn't be beat. I was wrong!

We each had a sandwich as well and they were both very good. I just have to say, if all this place served was their clam chowder they would do fine. I'd drive 3 hours again to get it and I will soon I am sure.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crofton, Maryland
Level Contributor
175 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Chowder!”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Went to Black Pearl on the first night of our visit and had a wonderful meal. Our waitress, Christin, was very friendly and attentive. Had the mussels and a huge bowl of awesomeness came out to our table! We chatted with Christin about where good places to go are and she was very helpful. We had a sample of the chowder for dessert (I know that's a little unusual) and was pleasantly awed by it. It has dill, which I don't normally associate with chowders, but it really worked! Definitely worth a visit when you are in Newport

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison nj
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lobster salad”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Great little restaurant, with excellent chowder and Lobster roll. Cozy woody enviroment, with great tasting food and service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ontheroad1072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mims
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pearl of a Restaurant”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This was such a great find of a restaurant. It is difficult to find a parking place, but worth walking a bit to enjoy the great food. the seafood is fresh and prepared perfectly. The desserts are different from time to time, and all worth the calories. Have one!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gayle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing