We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what it use to be, and we love this place - expecially the Commodore Room”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Pearl

Black Pearl
Ranked #17 of 232 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $55
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mendham, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
“Not what it use to be, and we love this place - expecially the Commodore Room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We have been to the Black Pearl off and on for thirty years. We have lived in Newport and visited often during our summer sailing trips and winter tours. This restaurant has always had a special place in our hearts, and the Commodore room has been one of our go to places for that special Newport dining experience.
I took my family to dinner while visiting before the Christmas Holiday and we were disappointed. While the service and ambience were what we always expect – superb. The staff consist mostly long timers and they are all professional. We have had the pleasure of being served by the same individuals going back over our thirty years of visiting. However, on this occasion the meal and its presentation were just lackluster. The ingredients used appeared to be fresh and first rate. But the preparation was tired and dated. Don’t get me wrong, I love classic menus and formal dining, but this time it just seemed that there was no heart or effort put into the meal. Our dishes arrived quickly and together, but the food was only warm, bland and plated with little effort.
We left concerned with the future of this classic place. While we realize taste have changed, places like the Commodore Room are becoming rare and hard to find. Its classicism is what has made this place unique and special. We hope that we were at the place on just a slow holiday night and our experience isn’t indicative of an overall trend. We are anticipating being back next year and are looking forward to an excellent experience like we had in the past

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dionysus58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    427
    213
    73
    74
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“OK - not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

It was the end of 'The Season' and the weather not good - the outside areas were closed so we had to go inside. Very cramped seating, practically could have eaten from the table next to us - service was average. The chowder was good - best part of the meal, the swordfish OK but served on a bun ??? Key Lime Pie was nothing special. Overall a pretty average experience - maybe due to the time of year?

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lozfromoz98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“OK Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

On advice from our Mansion tour guide, we tried this Bannister Wharf spot. Seating in this very small restaurant is tight, and decor unremarkable. This was the 5th place we tried in our Boston/RI/Maine visit that was touted as having the "best clam chowder." It was OK: a bit thin, but lots of fairly tender clam chunks, and not too over spiced (rate 4/5). The fish-crab-lobster cake was tasty, and the Julienne veggies were superb. Wait staff was OK. Overall food rating =4; experience rating=3.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marcogranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven
Level Contributor
140 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Cramped seating but excellent soup and chili.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We were told that the Black Pearl had the best clam chowder and I have to say it's true. The clams weren't chewy like I've had so many other times. It was truly delicious and although it's expensive, it's a large portion so you are full after a hearty bowl. I didn't like how cramped the seating was but that's how it goes in Newport--very similar to seating in NYC. If you don't mind that, it's worth going. The chili is also excellent.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunnydays007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great lunch stop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were visiting the Mansions and needed a lunch break. I asked a museum worker where to get a great bowl of clam chowder and he suggested Black Pearl. Wow was he right! A short 5 min drive and we were at Bannisters Wharf. We even found parking right next to the restaurant, VERY rare in Newport! Stepped in out of the cold rain and into the warm glow of the bar seating. Sat right down and had piping hot chowder within 5 min tops! It was very busy in the dining area, 20 min wait. Sitting at the bar was great for lunch though. We recommend the Sticky Toffee Pudding also, really delicious!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CTRob64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing