We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a pleasure” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Pearl

Black Pearl
Ranked #17 of 232 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $55
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Upstate Ny
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have eaten here many times - usually just for the chowder. Hubby has eaten here with a friend in the commodore room and said it was expensive but outstanding. The bar is friendly and attentive. Always lots of people around. The best thing is their clam chowder and in the fall they also have hot spiced cider. This past time, the crackers were saltines so I missed the big milk crackers they used to use.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    425
    213
    73
    74
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, MA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A classic and classy seafood restaurant, great for dinner with friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We wandered in here, hungry, and had to wait almost an hour for a table -- but it was worth it. Clam chowder and bisque was great. Main entree was supposed to be a little spicy, but wasn't spicy at all. Dessert was great. Wonderful atmosphere -- great place to talk over dinner, as the noise is nicely muted.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank russell-benoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morges, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Another disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Well it could be a copy paste of the Brick Alley's review. Black Pearl in the other place recommended in Newport, but you should go somewhere else: you will wait too long for a table to taste an average food. Even the lobster was overcooked, chewy and the side orders was cold and not appealing at all (overcooked rice and mashed broccoli !!!). Way to pricey and posh for what it really is. Sorry!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothee_Sven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food, disrespectful service - a bit rushed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We went there for restaurant week, and did not expect much, as $30 per person here is a bit below the normal rate (though the drink prices made up the difference).

The food was great. We all had the lobster tail entree over pasta (they called it "diablo", but it was well seasoned, but not at all spicy). The soup (I had the soup du jour - a split pea, everyone else had their "famous" clam chowder), Caesar salad, and dessert, was very nice, and portions were quite adequate, especially for restaurant week.

The service was another story. Not much wait... The waiter was in our faces to order as soon as we sat down... Brought our drinks, and rolls, and within minutes later brought the soup. As soon as we finished our soup, the salad and entree were upon us. We did not have time to finish our drinks. The food was sort of thrown at us, and then, though we saw the waiter a few times, we had trouble getting his attention to ask for wine and some cheese for the pasta. I was half though with my entree when the cheese mysteriously appeared on the table, like the waiter had tried to sneak it in there without my noticing... a few minutes later our glasses of wine appeared. Then, after we finished our entrees, we had to wait about 10 minutes before he took our desert order.

Re-reading this description, I feel I can't really put in words the feelings of disdain I have for this server (a heavy-set fellow in his sixties - certainly old enough to know how to do his job). Fortunately the food, ambiance, and company overcame the bad taste the service left with us.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank xdisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Black Pearl??? Not even a diamond in the rough!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Wait time for two on a Saturday in April was 40 minutes.

Crowded seating...glad there wasn't a fire!

Loud crowd.

Food was good but not great...grilled halibut for $23 was a good sized piece of fish. BBQ shrimp was 5 shrimp for $21. Limited beer selection. Served clam chowder with saltines instead of oyster crackers (kinda lame). Chowder was probably canned. Rolls were hot and yummy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pguidetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Pearl also viewed

 

Been to Black Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing