We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Tour Ever!”

Newport Tour & Guide
Ranked #14 of 52 Tours in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We provide private driving tours of Newport, RI, the most historically intact city in the United States. Whether you are traveling alone, as a couple, or with thirty-five friends, Newport Tour & Guide offers an experience that is both relaxing and informative, providing a rare insight into this City by the Sea. Our guides are all local, well trained, and have a prodigious knowledge of Newport history. Our private tours include over a dozen opportunities to stop and visit historical sites, not just drive by. Our special license allows us unlimited versatility in both our tours and routes, and we can stop at a moment's notice for photography, culinary delights, rest stops, or shopping, wherever and whenever our clients wish. If there's someplace you want to spend more time, it's your tour, and your choice.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Tour Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

My husband and I were headed to Newport for a babymoon and wanted to have a tour of the area. We were married in Newport, and have visited many times in the past but now have a whole new appreciation for the area. Tammy is so passionate about her job, very knowledgable about the history of Newport and also a great guide in general. I only wish we had known about her before we were married so that we could recommend her to everyone that had been visting for the wedding.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Christa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

I've been living in Rhode Island for nearly two years and have made several trips to Newport during that time. However, I've never seen Newport like I was able to on our tour with Tammy. She was extremely knowledgeable about all things Newport, from the Colonial times through the Gilded Age. We learned so many interesting and fascinating facts, and truly enjoyed our time. Tammy is friendly and engaging, and was able to answer all the questions from our group. Newport Tour & Guide offered the flexibility, personalization, and information that we were seeking. Even after the tour, my friends and I couldn't stop talking about how much we enjoyed the tour. Highly recommended!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Phenomenal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013


At the recommendation of the concierge at the Vanderbilt Grace we did a private tour with Newport Tour & Guide. It was the highlight of our trip to Newport! We were both educated and entertained. Tammy is the guide to call when you are in Newport.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Personal and Insightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Took a bespoke tour with Tammy on a cruise port stop - and so glad we did.!! Picked up directly from the quay in a comfortable MPV and then given a real insider perspective into the history of Newport. Tammy knows her stuff and has a real passion for the town which comes through. Can't get better value for money (especially when compared to the cruise ship tour prices) - fixed fee for 3 hours for up to 4 people inc. entry to one of the houses. This works out c.half the price of the cruise rates pp for 4 of you, or the same cost for a highly personal trip for 2. No comparison! We smiled as we saw the coachloads of people unload, as we climbed aboard our comfortable vehicle!!! Highly recommended!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, Massachusetts
1 review
“Terrific Tour with Tammy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Our tour of Newport was terrific! Tammy tailored our tour to our interests. She was interesting, very well-informed, entertaining and gracious. We were relaxed and comfortable, never felt rushed and weren't bombarded with information that we couldn't even process. The entire experience was lovely and easy. AND, we got snacks!! A fabulous way to see a charming city. We'll be back!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Newport Tour & Guide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing