We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great addition to a cool part of Newport”
Review of Malt

Malt
Ranked #32 of 234 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Chicago
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great addition to a cool part of Newport”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Checked out Malt on another trip to Newport and loved it. Friendly service, great layout that hides the fact there is a whole section in the back. Tasty food and great beverage selection, especially if you like a tipple!! Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TaraTate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    70
    21
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This restaurant was recommended by the owner of the Inn where we were staying. Great food and our server was lovely and very helpful. The starters were big enough to have as a main ( I had the risotto) and we tried a local beer with blueberries in it which was really good. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pjb0st0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I brought in my husband and children for dinner. The food was great. We had the duck spring rolls to start. The kids had small child size portions of fish and chips. Very lightly battered. Even my fussy kids loved it. I had the scallops cooked prefect. My husband had the rib eye which was great as well. The service was great. Nice to have a place in town with this level of food that is also child friendly. We will be back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food good service”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Our meal was excellent and our server was helpful and pleasant. Overall a good dining experience. We would definitely go there again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lcfoodie453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
526 reviews
345 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Busy and buzzing”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Clearly a place to go. This restaurant was busy and ver noisy on the Thursday evening we went there. Service speedy and efficient, good choice of wines by the glass. Good standard food, nothing special.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank moses_karibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Malt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing