We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food and right on the water!”
Review of The Lobster Bar

The Lobster Bar
Ranked #38 of 235 Restaurants in Newport
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great food and right on the water!”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

view is awesome. you get to sit right on the water as you eat. lobster meat was very fresh. both the cold and hot rolls were delicious.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    203
    86
    39
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean View, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lobster Dinner overlooking Newport Harbor.”
Reviewed November 27, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

On a visit to Newport, RI, my wife and I wanted to sample authentic local seafood. We happened upon the Lobster Bar. It is a combination restaurant and working wharf where freshly caught lobsters are kept in huge tanks. While diners are waiting for a table, they can watch the lobsters which are sorted into varied sizes, including huge 4+ pounders. We were seated outside, right on the wharf and, while we enjoyed delicious lobster rolls, we were able to watch the comings and goings of sailboats and other water craft. This was a highlight of our Newport visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bchane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Fl
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great Lobster Roll”
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Both our hot and cold lobster rolls were excellent, this place has character and the view out over the harbor is amazing. We ate here two years ago and were just as pleased as we were this time around

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank johnandbabette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Fort, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“I suggest the hot buttered Lobster Roll”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is a great place and very scenic. It is expensive (as you would expect), bu the lobster roll was one of the best meals I ate on our entire trip.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan7667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Value was great for fresh seafood. Seating a little crowded not real comfortable. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lobster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing