We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh lobster”
Review of The Lobster Bar

The Lobster Bar
Ranked #36 of 239 Restaurants in Newport
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Meriden, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Fresh lobster”
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to grab a drink and the lobster roll is a must try. It's s fresh you can look in the kitchen and see them cleaning the lobster than plating it on the roll. It's in a good location right on the water. Little bit of outside seating but not too much. Doors do open wide in the summer so you feel like you are outside anyway even when at the bar. Wish they sold Lobster Bar sweatshirts and not only The Landing ones. Friendly staff.

Helpful?
Thank Brittney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    211
    89
    41
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love fresh seafood right off the boat”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The lobster boats pull right up to this building and you can watch them unload their catch. There is also a little restaurant but we took our seafood to go so we could make dinner back at our vaca-condo. Right downtown and offers a nice view from the little restaurant/bar.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank watersprites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Neat Place right on the water”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Very neat lobster bar. You walk through a fresh fish market with lobsters and clams of all shapes. We sat down to have a drink and a lobster roll, but I had to take off a point due to two things. Got a lobster roll which was delicious! Not loaded with tons of mayo and dill, but loaded with delicious lobster. However they were out of rolls, so had to have the sandwich on a bun...bummer. My wife also asked for a bloody mary, however they were out of bloody mary mix...another bummer.

Still definitely should try it out, great experience!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osceola, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Loved it...fun.”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Rustic, earthy, raw floor boards, great fun. Walking through the fish market and getting pictures with the monster lobsters kind of set the tone for a fun time. We were there basically to have some drinks, soak in the atmosphere, talk to friends and just kick back for a while. This fit the bill very well. Drinks were good as were the oysters. We weren't there for a meal but seeing the lobster rolls really tempted us. They looked great. It was a little cool outside but lap blankets were available if you wanted one. The view outside was terrific...seagulls, sailboats, the harbor...loved it. We weren't in a hurry and all was fine. Service was friendly and attentive. Loved it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beej5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

It doesn't look like much from the wharf but The Lobster Bar has great views once you're inside. We sat overlooking the water and used the blankets they provided to keep warm (it's a casual place so you won't look too silly). The lobster was a great value and quite tasty. Our waitress was very attentive.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wendyr10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lobster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing