We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location & good food!”

The Port Seafood Bar & Grille
Ranked #59 of 233 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Full service restaurant and bar with Harbor views and live entertainment on weekends.
Nahant, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous location & good food!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Beautiful place on Newport Harbor. Great appetizer specials from 5-7pm, weekdays. Try the cocnut shrimp! Dave, the Bartender, is fun and entertining.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LesBeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    61
    20
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Best Lobster Rolls in New England !”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were looking for somewhere for lunch during the Colombus Day long weekend - Newport was mobbed with locals and out-of-town isitors all enjoying the last of the 'summer-sun' - every restaurant in town had long queues....

I had been to The Pier once before for an early evening drink - and remembered it being just a little bit out of the way.. if you didnt know where it was - or you werent looking for it... you could easily miss it. Perhaps, we might not have such a big wait for lunch..... Bingo! We scored an outside 'Boardwalk' table with scenic views out on to Newport harbor - idyllic.

Erica our server was very prompt. In no time at all we were tucking into the best Lobster Rolls we have found (so far) in New England.

The venue could do with a bit of a facelift and make-over - but otherwise its a good spot for a casual lunch or informal meal - with great views and live-music during the evenings. Highly Recommended

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ivan i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cutlerville, Michigan
Level Contributor
115 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very nice view of harbor, good food”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We found a coupon for stuffed Lobster at $14.95 in local paper. We went with another couple who had prime rib. Both were very good food. The sun setting over the harbor was very beautiful. It is a little difficult to find but worth the hunt

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank opa1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A lobster pie to die for!”
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

A lobster pie to die for! Loved the puff pastry crust.yum...had PEI Oysters champagne and mango cheesecake for desset. Our friends who were visiting from out of state loved the seafood choices. Awesome dinner on the harbor

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Island_OP_401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
187 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
“Amazing View!”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This restaurant has had several owners and names over the years. What never changes is the view of the small harbor that lets you know you are in Newport.
You can dine outdoors, partly outdoors, or indoors, with the wall open so it feels outdoors. It can't get much better than that in the natural ambiance department.
We saw that they offered a special with the choice of prime rib or stuffed lobster tails and we both opted for the beef. One salad as a starter and a dozen littlenecks got us going. Everything was cooked/prepared to perfection. The server was friendly, quick and efficient and the price was amazing. Regular entrees run from 23 to 29 dollars, generally. The specials were $14.99 and worth twice that price.
If you are looking for a nice dinner or just a few good drinks, consider stopping by The Port Grill and Raw Bar.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dogwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Port Seafood Bar & Grille also viewed

 

Been to The Port Seafood Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing