We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Newport Onshore
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 27, 2010

I stayed in the two bedroom suite with four people. The setup was perfect for our stay. Each couple had separate sleeping areas and bathrooms. There is a full kitchen, dining room table, living room area, washer and dryer, and two good size porches with table and chairs. The kitchen has everything you need to cook and serve food. It even has a dishwasher. We were on the second floor, which is actually the first floor with rooms, overlooking the pool. You can also see yachts and boats in the marina from the porch. The pool was busy during the day, but there were always lounge chairs available. And it wasn't too noisy. We stayed during the week, the weekends might be more crowded. The location couldn't be better, the hotel is right in the middle of Thames street where a lot of the shopping and restaurants are. We walked to dinner most nights. I enjoyed my time here and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zflys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 143 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2010

My first stay and I must say would go back. Beds slept very well, always a good supply of towels, laundry soap, dishes, etc. Close to down town shopping, catch a tour boat, restaurants, cliff walk, you name it.
We visited family while there and was able to see a lot of the history of Newport. Karen from Wyndaham Hotel took very good care of us with events going on and coupons. Very impressed with this trip.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kjcquilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2009

If you like dirty out dated style of living maybe this is your spot?? If you like mold and disrepair in your life, this is you. So far Wyndham is right up there with motel 6 in my book. My advice is look else where.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cfairer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Year after year my family visits Newport and stays at the Newport OnShore. We always find our room wonderful and the staff very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LadyBugTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

[U]The Wyndham Onshore was AWESOME. [/U] The room was a little smaller than some, but it was clean, updated and neat. The bed in the master bedroom was kingsized and comfortable. There were 2 balcony's for lookign out onto the many boats docks and allowed a cool breeze to run throughout the unit. There was a tiny kitchen fairly stocked for cooking, and a large dining table for a family of 6 to eat at. There was cable tv, and a small sized washer and driver. The Master bathroom had a small jacuzzi tub and a great view. We stayed in room 122 (parking space W-3). The place was located in the midst of all the activities on Thames street and a Greek Festival was taking place the weekend we went. Also, there was a live band that played until 2am in the morning, so if you don't like to stay up late, this may not be the place for you. The pool area was small, but there were swings available for the kids there also. You also, had to walk up to the lobby to borrow towels and give your room number. They had a weigh room (very modest just a treadmill, bike, eliptical and small weights) but it also had a sauna in there which was nice. Lastly, the one thing I didn't like about the resort was the parking. Each unit had a space assigned to them, but people didn't respect that. Not to mention it was a very tight spot. So if you have a truck good luck on the parking. Also, the lobby for Onshore closes early and you have to go to the other Wyndham about 1/2 block up the street for keys if you check in late. Also, lots of people had problems with card key getting them in the main door to their condos. Again I repeat the location is great. I got used to waking up in the morning and walking to Ben & Jerry's for a smoothie. I miss that already.

[U]Thames Street [/U]- Great restaurants, music, festivals, and atmosphere. We walked up and down this street our entire stay. There were police around to keep the peace, music playing all the time. It was very crowded at night, but slightly busy during the hours before lunch. Families walked here and we walked to the marina to see live bands play. Great fun.

Day – [U]Easton's Beach[/U]. The playground, carousel and snack bar were all a hit. There is also an aquarium. The beach is well-maintained but you may experience A LOT of algae. Overall, the beach was definately a dissappointment to us spoiled beach goers. We have been to many beautifuly beaches, and were shocked and dissappointed at the darken, dirty appearance of the water. It was slimy and yucky and my kids didn't want to play in the beach water. So we played in the sand instead and made it a great time.

- [U]Scenic Drive on Ocean Drive [/U]to view the Mansions - I really enjoyed this. Lucky for us we went on a sunny day, because the next day we went the mansions were draped in fog. Very eerie and spooky looking, which was great to see also. The mansions were all very different and impressive, definetely worth the ride.

- [B][U]Brenton Point State Park [/U][/B]- This was the best part of our trip. This place is gorgeous. We were able to fly kytes for hours here, while looking over at the water crashing against the rocks. Bring a picnic lunch and hang out here, walk on the rocks and take pictures. Most of all, bring a kyte. If you do not there is a guy that sales them. The sky was filled with them the first day we went. We loved it so much we went to Walmart and got everyone kytes. However we did buy a nice cloth kyte from the guy for $30 and it was worth it. We were able to fly kytes and enjoy the day until about 6pm when the fog rolled in and took over. You could barely see in front of you. It was a great experience for the kids because they had never seen any thing like this before and neither had we.

Day 5 – [U][B]The Cliff Walk[/B][/U] is a public access road running three and a half miles along the shore of Newport, and offers a breathtaking view of the mansions and the Atlantic Ocean, sometimes aspiring to heights as high as seventy feet! This was nice. Definately a must do, although we did not do the whole 3 miles.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lprstn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2009

Went to Newport off season and it was cold. I want to go back when its warmer. Wyndham Newport Onshore was a great place to stay. Very clean. Great view. The staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmarch415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2008

Stayed in a 2 Bedroom Condo in Bldg #100 which is closest to the marina and harbor views. Others are on the marina as well but this building has the best views. This was a girls weekend and the beds were very comfortable even the pull out couch. The condo was pleasantly decorated and spacious enough for all of us. The location is awesome because it is blocks from Bannister Whart/downtown Newport or right in the Thames Ave area for those shops/restaurants. Went to Pronto's and Asterick and Obelisk which had great food. We are planning to go back next year. We rented through Rizzo Mgmt but can also go through Wyndham as well. Or private owners. I think they are all decorated the same.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiflanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
722 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.5 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#6 of 21 in Newport
425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Newport Onshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Newport Onshore

Address: 405 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6603 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Newport Onshore)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Newport
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $128 - $667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Newport Onshore 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Newport Onshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Newport Onshore Hotel Newport
Newport Onshore
Newport Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing