We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wyndham Newport Onshore
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bristol, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We went for "girls weekend". Great location, no car is needed, can walk to restaurants, shopping, night clubs, etc. The unit needs updating, and could have been a bit cleaner, we did walk into a dirty towell in our bathroom, and both sliding doors did not lock, but we were on the 2nd floor so were not concerned. If I had my kids with me, i'd have to have them come to our room and fix both doors so they would lock. Overall the room is spacious and it's nice having 2 full bathrooms and a full kitchen, nice dining room table to sit around. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    62
    23
    8
    6
See reviews for
61
36
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Ct
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I took my daughter here for a last-minute weekend to get away from the pollen inland. We loved the location -- right in-town, near shops, the library, the marinas, tourist railway, etc. The complex is nice: shingle-style apartments with only two units per floor. We had a two-BR unit with one master with a king-sized bed, and the other BR had two twin beds, a bit cramped but fine, and with their own bathroom which also had access from the kitchen/dining area. As other reviewers are noted, the place needs some updating but I don't go to these places for fancy finishes. Everything was clean and functional. I did comment to the management that they need to weatherstrip the windows and doors -- there was a north wind blowing and the wind came whistling in around the window and door frames, so we had to close the insulated curtains. That was a shame, because there was a gorgeous view of the marina from one deck, and a view of the lit-up Jamestown Bridge at night. The other deck faced the courtyard and pools; both had tables and chairs. I was glad also that there was free wi-fi. The TVs were older but worked fine; there was also a tuner/CD player which we enjoyed using. We got a free newspaper every morning, and coffee and tea were laid out in the lobby. The resort has a few events daily but of course Newport itself is the main attraction. The staff was welcoming and helpful. We also had covered designated parking, which was nice. Did not use the pool, but there is a covered pool and an uncovered pool, right next to each other. Also a small swingset for small kids, and some picnic tables. We are Wyndham owners and glad to finally get a chance to experience another Newport resort. I would gladly stay here again; all my quibbles are minor ones.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the bridge, if you can. But I think all the rooms are sited well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eafinct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turner, Maine
Level Contributor
109 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I will first start by saying the staff was extremely friendly and helpful-they are wonderful. The location is good as well, but the unit needs updating. The furniture is old and the dining table was broken. The sheets for the pull out couch did not even fit and wad very uncomfortable. The Tvs are old,but that does not bother me, but the remote did not work on one.the bathroom has chips in the floor an a very poor silicone job or like jobs have been done around the tub. The noise from the elevator and other mechanical things in our unit was awful. The deck is warped and in need of repairs as well, it looks like it is ready to break. I do agree that the unit is a reasonable size and the location is very good, right in the heart of things. It is also nice to have a full kitchen as it is expensive to eat out for very meal. The kitchen is very well stock with quality small appliances and a good full size stove and fridge. When we poked our head around on the deck we did have an ocean view. We love Newport and enjoy our time here, loved the staff, but likely will stay somewhere else next time unless we are able to get a better unit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cyndy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, CT
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

These units definately need updating. There were holes in the bathroom that were spackled but not painted. When the elevator was use it sounded like it was in our unit. The location is great. Right on the water(we had a nice view of the Newport bridge), and right on Thames St.(stores and restaurants in walking distance). I am a Wyndham owner and have been to a number of their resorts. This one could use some attention

Room Tip: Don't get put in the North Wind building with a room # in the 400's. Loud elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jambob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

My wife and own timeshares in western Massachusetts and Virginia Beach and have also traveled to quite a bit over the years. From the time of check in and throughout our entire stay here we have been very impressed. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful making our check in very smooth. I was very pleasingly surprised also to not get the typical "meeting offer to tour the resort" to give us a sales pitch. I am now figuring out it is most likely this is one of the few resorts that are so great that they are completely sold out. My wife and I have been exploring Newport everyday so we haven't yet used the resorts amenities but the 2 bedroom condo we are in is perfect. From "both" balconies we have wonderful views of the bay and they are absolutely breathtaking. The decor in the room is very nice and the appliances are all updated. I do not usually write these reviews but I am so happy with our stay I felt the need to share our experience here. Even though we came in December there is still plenty to see in do, today we are going to hit the cliff walk and a mansion or two to see the "Christmas" decorations.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We had a one bedroom for the two of us and it afforded us plenty of room. We were on the top floor, the only unit on that floor...so private and quiet. We had a lovely deck and the unusually warm weather allowed us to enjoy every morning and evening out there. The view of the marina was calming and peaceful. The indoor pool looked clean and well kept, but we never made it for a dip. We were able to walk to a local coffee shop right out of the '50s for a great, affordable breakfast. The staff there were friendly and the service was as good as the food. It was restaurant week and we took advantage, having several wonderful dinners at a bargain price. And again, we were able to walk to all of them. Yes, some of the furniture needs replacing and the bathroom could use an update, but everything in the unit was clean and comfortable and in good working order. The carpet could use a steam clean, but no stains on any of the living room furniture or dining room seats. The kitchen had everything we needed for a quick breakfast (when we didn't go down the block) or an afternoon snack before dinner. If we had wanted to cook a complete meal, everything was there, including the dinnerware, pots, pans, baking dishes, microwave, toaster, coffee maker and a blender. There was a dishwasher with detergent and soap if you wanted to hand wash the dishes. We had a washer and dryer in the bathroom closet and again, the detergent was provided. Several packs of coffee and popcorn were in the basket on arrival. Bathroom amenities included shampoo, conditioner, lotion, hand and bath soap, as well as facial cleansing bars. A hairdryer was under the sink. Plenty of paper towels, tissues and toilet paper were also provided. All you really need to bring is your food and beverages. The icemaker in the full-size refrigerator provided plenty of ice...no need to take an ice bucket out in search of a machine. We walked almost everywhere. There are plenty of shops right there on the same block and the Brick Alley area and shopping outlet is a pleasant 15 minute walk away. There is a great armory filled with antique dealers right next door. We did take the car out for the 10 mile drive (it treated us to spectacular views along the beaches with glimpses of some of the mansions) and to take a short hop to the two local vineyards. Again we lucked out...there was a Harvest Festival at the Greenvale Vineyard with a terrific jazz trio. A ten dollar tasting gave us 5 samples and we got to keep the glasses. We learned that the musicians often play the Algonquin Hotel in Manhattan where there is a $60 cover charge and we got to hear them play three sets for the price of the tasting. It was an inexpensive and most enjoyable afternoon. The Newport Vineyards also have a good tasting (and you get to keep the glasses there, too--more to add to our collection...) but the setting is not as enjoyable as Greenvale (and no live music the day we visited). We took the short drive over to the Newport Casino, but were disappointed. It seemed sort of dark and dingy and there wasn't much action. Only slot machines...lots of machines for folks on a budget (penny, nickel and dime machines were in the majority). The bars were closed in the daytime and the cafeteria style food venue left a lot to be desired (both the buffet and the snack bar inside the casino itself). All in all, the Onshore is in a great location and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a "touch up" service on the third morning---clean towels and all of the garbage was removed---so can't complain about the service. And we were told if we needed clean towels at any time all we had to do was call the desk. We are returning in December with my partner's teenagers and they were able to tell us which unit we would be in...a 2BR/2BA unit...and it's even closer to the water! We are looking forward to seeing the mansions all decked out for the holidays (the desk clerk gave us a coupon to use that will save us $5 per person whether we order ahead online or wait until we return). We really enjoyed ourselves and found the Onshore a nice place to return to after long days of sightseeing, shopping and wine tasting. There is only one parking spot per unit which probably poses a problem when the place is completely booked. Spots are assigned according to the location of your unit and some of them are pretty tight. I have a Jeep Grand Cherokee and it was a squeeze, but not impossible. They did tell me that I could ask for another spot if I didn't like it, but we managed (and you stepped out of the car into the doorway of the building where our unit was located...nice on the really windy nights). I, like several other reviewers, would have given the full five stars except for the need for some updating.

Room Tip: The closer to the water, the better. If you are booking the one bedroom, the top floor unit is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NYNurse70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We went to Newport, RI for a girl's weekend away. The staff was wonderful. They made sure we had everything we needed and went above and beyond what we expected. We had a three bedroom condo and there were 8 adults-plenty of room. We hope to return next year!

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the elvevator service closet. It made some noise during the night whenth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
593 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.1 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
573 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Newport Onshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Newport Onshore

Property: Wyndham Newport Onshore
Address: 405 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6603 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Newport Onshore)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Newport
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Newport Onshore 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Newport Onshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Newport Onshore Hotel Newport
Newport Onshore
Newport Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing