We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to have fun....”

Newport & Narragansett Bay Railroad - Dinner Train
Plattsburgh, New York
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“If you want to have fun....”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I took 100 senior citizens on the Newport Dinner Train (with "Train Robbery" included) and it was the most fabulous time on our entire trip! The owner met us at the train and made sure everyone was aboard and taken care of; the food & drinks were fabulous and the group that performed the "train robbery" were priceless! What fun this group made our entire visit! The scenery was exquisite and the owner made sure were were placed perfectly on the train rails for the sunset & views of the Saratoga ship docked in view! I would never go to Newport again without this attraction whether it be a group or couple. I cannot say enough - even the staff of waiters & waitresses were so professional and accommodating! Please don't miss the Newport Dinner Train when visiting Newport! You won't regret it unless you pass it by!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    25
    9
    17
    31
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We did lunch part of the "dinner train". What a waste of time and money. The scenic trip consisted mostly of weeds, a few Navy barracks and just a little of the ocean. It was supposed to be a 1-1/2 hour trip but at least 20 minutes of that time was just parked. When we asked why they had stopped the server said they were just running ahead of schedule. The food was very average. There are so many fun things to do and good restaurants in Newport, I would suggest you not take the train.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank bellalacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“eh, it was a night out”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

A bit on the pricy side for what you get as a meal. The train ride was nice, but it would have been better as just a scenic ride. Not very easy to eat on a moving train

Helpful?
Thank Walt_Lucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Day out with Thomas the Train”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is our 3rd Day out with Thomas the Train. I wasn't impressed with this location. There were not as many as activities as we have encountered in other locations. We only spent 2 hours which is nothing with out children who adore Thomas. I don't think I would return to see Thomas at Newport.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BusyMama M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethpage, New York
1 review
“Poor scenic views”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were encouraged to go on a dinner train ride by the concierge at our hotel. We made reservations via the concierge, after they had told me the same day that they were booked. The train was late about 25-30 minutes upon arriving to pick the guests up, but we were greeted by friendly staff.
The view was horrendous, nothing scenic. we passed through apartment complex after complex, lots of trees, government property and tons of garbage. The food portions were on the smaller side. A complete waste of money!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank c e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newport & Narragansett Bay Railroad - Dinner Train also viewed

 

Been to Newport & Narragansett Bay Railroad - Dinner Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing