We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was an enchanting experience, and a wonderful stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It was an enchanting experience, and a wonderful stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed for our anniversary during a rainy night, but it did not dampen our stay as the hotel staff was warm and friendly. It is a great romantic place. I was able to see some of the other rooms, and they have all were decorated uniquely. We stayed in one of the Signature suites, the Renaissance, with wonderful views of the ocean, and an outside sitting area. I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel if visiting Newport for any occasion. Historic hotel on cliff walk. Just wonderful, we hated to leave.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelbugMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    65
    26
    14
    16
See reviews for
71
494
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

The hotel is perfect! AMAZING bedrooms - we had to laugh when my mother and I arrived late after our trip from NY we were led into a room with a smallish 4 poster bed... impossibly romantic! We made use of the HUGE jacuzzi bath - a definite pretty woman moment!! The rooms and bathroom are incredible - like a blast from the past. The dining area and patio are also to die for as is the location. The only thing that let the hotel down was the service. At these prices you expect a certain standard which the very young and mildly interested staff were unable to offer... a shame.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sccross84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

We stayed at The Chanler on our recent trip to Newport. The hotel was beautiful and the staff very friendly. After spending a few night`s at The Four Seasons in Boston, The Chanler fell short on luxury hotels and service. We were celebrating our anniversary as we indicated when we made the reservation. We didn't expect anything additional but after staying at the Four Seasons, where they upgraded our room and sent champagne and strawberries up the first night, we realize in this economy..it's the little extras that make a difference.

Our service was great. The staff very friendly, but somewhat sparse. They automatically respond with "we will take care of that immediately" but often don't. We had to haul our own luggage down 3 flights of stairs as no one ever came to the room to retrieve it. In addition, the restaurant, The Spiced Pear, is not worth the cost.

Nice place...would definitely explore other luxury hotels in the area next tine.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank igetcarriedaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

what a gem! the hotel was everything we wanted- charming, romantic and luxurious.
the staff was extremely friendly and helped us get a reservation at the 11th hour.
we stayed in a room close to the water with an outdoor entrance (no need to cut thru the lobby to get to this room)- highly recommend upgrading to a room with an outdoor jacuzzi located in it's own gazebo.

hotel restaurant had really good food (the burger is a MUST)....but i would stay away from the .25 cent martini's.

overall fantastic experience!

Kimberly
New York, New York

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcrisi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2010

I am a picky traveler. Our stay was wonderful. The service was great. The food amazing. The staff very friendly. The room over the top. The view was beautiful Who are these people that complained so much? Always unhappy, I suspect. I really did not want to leave our room or our spa. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and would not hesitate to return for another visit. Priced appropriately.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2010

My husband and I had the great pleasure of staying at this outstanding hotel last weekend. We went to Newport to celebrate my birthday. I could not have asked for a better birthday gift! This hotel is just gorgeous. Service was excellent from the valet parking, to the front desk, to the wait staff.

We stayed in the Williamsburg room. It has a private spa tub, radiant floors in the bathroom, a huge two person shower and a fabulous bed. The location of the hotel for us was wonderful. We had dinner at the Spiced Pear and the views from the dining room are hard to beat. Breakfast again the next morning was a perfect way to start the day.

If you are looking for a special romantic getaway then look no further. This hotel is amazing.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug0517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
123 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2010

We stayed at the Chandler for two nights and found it to be an absolutely beautiful hotel. The room decor was beautiful and we found the service to be amazing. The location was good as it was away from the hustle and bustle of the town. However, we found that the other guests were a bit pretentious and almost ruined the atmosphere. We ended up spending as much time out of the hotel as possible or just stayed in our room. It's too bad because the Chanler has beautiful common rooms.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Where_II
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.9 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#8 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chanler at Cliff Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chanler at Cliff Walk

Property: The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Address: 117 Memorial Boulevard, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#2 Family Hotel in Newport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Chanler at Cliff Walk 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning historic mansion hotel located on the famous Cliff Walk in Newport, Rhode Island. Boasting 20 elegant guestrooms, each custom designed around a particular historical period or theme, this luxury hotel allows breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and Easton’s Beach, setting the mood for a truly relaxing and enjoyable vacation. The award-winning Spiced Pear Restaurant and luxurious in-room spa treatments combine to make this boutique hotel the perfect setting for a romantic retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chanler at Cliff Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chanler At Cliff Walk Hotel Newport
Chanler At Cliff Walk Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing