We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (898)
Filter reviews
898 results
Traveler rating
750
80
32
18
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
750
80
32
18
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spiced pear car service cliff walk gothic room ocean villa private hot tub english tudor greek revival martha's vineyard glass of sparkling wine heated floors romantic hotel block island my husband and i private courtyard beautiful property gas fireplace
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 898 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2018

Beautiful and memorable hotel that was a perfect place for an anniversary getaway. The room (Williamsburg) was stunning, as is the hotel's location overlooking the beach and at the start of the Cliff Walk. Sitting out on the terrace having breakfast was an experience in itself, as was reading with a cocktail on the hotel lawn. We also enjoyed taking out the hotel bikes, and the ease of the car service into town. The private dining experience for two at Cara, with our own personalized menu, flowers, and music, was a real highlight - service, food and wine for the dinner was impeccable and will live long in our memories. We hope to have the chance to return soon.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChanleratCliffWalk, Owner at The Chanler at Cliff Walk, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Dear Craig M.,

We are pleased to hear you had a wonderful 25th Anniversary celebration at The Chanler. The Williamsburg guest room is a fabulous representation of Post-Revolutionary America and is a wonderful accommodation choice. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our wonderful amenities such as breakfast out on our terrace, the Adirondack chairs on the lawn and our complimentary bicycle & car service. A fantastic way to celebrate such a milestone like yours is by indulging in a private dining experience at Cara. It is great to hear your service, food and wine were impeccable and that it made a lasting impression. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Chanler soon.

Sincerely,
Lani Shufelt, Proprietress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018

My then girlfriend and I stayed at the Chanler the night that I proposed. We first had dinner at the Spiced Pear (now Cara) and later stayed in the Martha's VIneyard Villa. It was an exceptional experience and a very memorable occasion. I wouldn't change a thing and recommend it highly.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Albe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018 via mobile

This place is perfection. From the minute we checked in, to when we drove away,we felt pampered and wanted for nothing.
Everyone working here remembers you. They almost know what you want before you ask. We drove a rental
Car here, but many times would use one of their drivers,who would drop us off and pick us up for lunch,dinner,etc
The rooms were SO comfortable and I liked having a Separate back entrance.the a/c worked great and was quiet
(though it was a heat wave outside),and the bath products were incredible (called FRESH?)
All the bellman,valet,managers were super friendly and remembered our names. I also liked that We had privacy and felt secure throughout the visit.
We ran the cliff walk and forty steps everyday,came back and showered,and used the hot tub on our private back porch.
Of course,we saw a couple of the mansions,enjoyed the restaurants,and went to a few beaches (gooseberry, Easton, etc. )
We loved breakfast at Chanler every morning.

Heaven. We will be back and I cannot wait.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank LouisvilleWildcatfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChanleratCliffWalk, General Manager at The Chanler at Cliff Walk, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2018

Dear LouisvilleWildcatfan,

Thank you for your kind words and feedback. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your experiences with our staff and felt absolutely welcomed. At The Chanler, we strive to build personal relationships with all of our guests that go beyond the typical hotel experience. I am delighted to hear you tried our complimentary car service to downtown and the waterfront. It is both convenient and stress free. Our bath products are called Fresh. We chose this line for each of the bathrooms in our guest rooms because of the brand's devotion to authenticity and craftsmanship. I am happy to hear you enjoyed using our bath products. You truly explored Newport and visited many of our town's most desired attractions. Perhaps on your next visit, you could use our complimentary bicycles to gain a brand new perspective of Newport. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Lani Shufelt, Proprietress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

We stayed for just one evening on our way up to Massachusetts from North Carolina. We stayed in the Martha’s Vineyard and relished every minute. (Including a very early sunrise, pictured.)

The room was fabulous, we couldn’t ask for better lighting or number of light fixtures and switches. :) The lawn is lovely. The valets and desk clerks are wonderful - they have the check-in process down pat!

Elizabeth helped us make reservations at Castle Hill for dinner, with such grace.

We can’t wait to return.

Date of stay: July 2018
1  Thank SeenAlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I chose Newport to celebrate our anniversary. We were looking to stay somewhere special and The Chanler delivered. We booked on the Martha’s Vineyard room through their website. The staff communicated with us periodically prior to our stay via email and personal phone call to verify al reservations and to see if their was anything we would like them to do to help make our time with them memorable. Upon arrival, we were greeted warmly be all staff, champagne was offered while bags were taken to the room.
Our room was a private room overlooking the ocean. We enjoyed a private patio with sauna, hot tube and a deck that looked out over Easton Beach. Best of all, the room was immaculately clean. Housekeeping did a wonderful job. We had driven 16 hours to get there so we decided to treat ourselves to a bath. The hotel prepared our bath with aromatherapy while we had supper in the cafe. It was a wonderful way to unwind and start our stay. We used the hot tub the next day which was was a perfect way to soak our sore muscles after spending all day walking up and down Bellevue Ave and shopping on the wharfs. The bed was comfortable also. Overall the room was perfect - just as the website described.
We dined at the cafe and used room service. Everything good. The exclamation point on our stay was the private dining experience. We came into this getaway planning to splurge and treat ourselves to luxury. If you want to splurge and experience a once in a lifetime unforgettable meal then you must do the private dining experience. It was an eight course meal with each course paired with wine/spirits. Dining staff contacted me prior to our meal to go over the menu. We were escorted to a private room and with candles, flowers, and champagne. Our host Teddy did a explained each course as he brought it out. Chef Matt personally visited with us halfway through the meal. I can say I tried things I never would have tried and it was all delicious. The highlight for us was the halibut with a seared scallop purée with cauliflower. The dish was beautiful, creative, and quite possibly the tastiest thing I have eaten in my entire life. In one word...unforgettable.
Finally, it was the human element of The Chanler that made our stay memorable. All of the staff from valets, the front desk, housekeeping, restaurant wait staff, Teddy, and Chef Matt went above and beyond to make our stay awesome. They drove us around town, made reservations or sunset dining at the Mooring, gave us suggestions for local wineries, and made dining experiences that we will fondly remember for a lifetime. Thank you to everyone at The Chanler.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank 405brandonh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChanleratCliffWalk, General Manager at The Chanler at Cliff Walk, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2018

Dear Brandon H.,

It was a pleasure celebrating your 20th Wedding Anniversary. We are absolutely pleased to hear we fully delivered as that special place for such a meaningful celebration. The Martha's Vineyard is a wonderful accommodation choice to celebrate a milestone like an anniversary. Martha's Vineyard features a private courtyard and entrance, oceanfront deck, hot tub and sauna. It is the perfect choice for those looking to unwind in a private retreat. I am delighted to hear you tried our Aromatherapy Bath Service, especially after such a long drive. Our exclusive Private Dining option allows our team to communicate with guests on a more personal and intimate level. Your eight course meal paired with wines/spirits is the ultimate dining experience we offer at Cara. It is such a wonderful experience! The entire Chanler team would like to thank you for such kind words. It means so much to us that we have created an atmosphere that both of you will remember forever. We all look forward to welcoming you and your wife back to The Chanler soon.

Sincerely,
Lani Shufelt, Proprietress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews