We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2005

After reading other mixed reviews, I was anxious to see if I had chosen wisely or not. It is a beautiful place! The service was very personal and at top level. The valet was always on hand, and the rooms were spectacular. All of the furnishings were high end, nightly turndown, great bathroom with Jacuzzi tub. Great location right on the cliffwalk. Worth the money to live like a Vanderbilt for a special occasion :) We would stay there again.
On to the Spiced Pear. The food was very good, well presented, unfortunately everything served was either lukewarm or cold. Service was severely lacking. No one ever checked how a course was, so we wound up eating things before they got colder :( . The waiter forgot we ordered a bottle of wine (which at $100 for the bottle, we were astounded) Anyway, he had about 12 tables by himself, so that might explain it. No fresh ground pepper offered for salad, I could go on, but you get the idea. Hopefully they will get it together, as it is a nice dining room and should be commensurate to the property that it is part of.

Helpful?
10 Thank MoNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    65
    26
    14
    16
See reviews for
71
496
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2005

My wife and I just spent two splendid days at The Chanler at Cliff Walk. We were most impressed by our luxurious and spacious bedroom. (We were in a large corner suite.) The high quality of finishes throughout the property also created a warm and luxurious ambience. The staff were extremely friendly and very attentive. We ate breakfast and lunch on the terrace overlooking the ocean and commented that this was the most romatic setting we have found anywhere in the US. It reminded us of a small Chateaux we stayed at in Europe. The food in the restaurant at dinner was fine, however, the new chef needs to create his own signature. We recommend this gem of a hotel to those who have an appetite and pocket book for the finer things in life.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank ReviewerToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2005

Being a finicky traveler, The Chanler exceeded my expectaions. The location is perfect, the accommodations are charming and unique, the cuisine is divine and service impeccable. The proximity to the beach, The Cliff Walk and town is also convenient. This is the ideal setting for a getaway with friends or a romantic weekend. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2005

I can't wait to go back!

I went up to the Chanler with a group of friends for an overnight stay..I travel quite a bit and have become quite snobby when it comes to accomodation and service but I was truly impressed.

The staff was extremely warm and welcoming and did everything in their power to make my stay a memorable one. I had the opprortunity to dine in the Spiced Pear as well and enjoyed my dinner so much I returned for their famous burger the next day for lunch..I was not disappointed.

The rooms are truly unique and luxurious and I can't wait to show them off to my husband when we go for a visit in the few weeks. I can't think of a better place to spend a weekend away.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2005

I used to work within the luxury hospitality industry, so I have to admit that I tend to be a harsher critic than most. I was so impressed with the level of attentiveness the staff displayed at The Chanler. They were ever-present, yet far from intrusive--water glasses never less than half full, seamlessly timed bath butlers (returning to my room after dinner to a hot bath) and even the smallest requests were met with "at your service" attitudes. The dining also proved to exceed expectations, with thoughtfully prepared dishes, balanced flavors with beautiful presentation. The views were delightful and I am already planning to return for a relaxing weekend very soon!

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2005

I've stayed at five star hotels around the world and The Chanler is better than any hotel I've visited. My husband and I arrived to celebrate our 5th Anniversary and from the moment we arrived we were made to feel so special. We were greeted at the front door by the bellmen (who know our names), and were immediately handed a glass of champagne at check-in. We checked into Englsih Tudor and were completely blown away by the size of the room - the bed was the most amazing we'd ever seen and the attention to detail was amazing (heated tile flooring, two flat screens, an abundance of English leather, huge jacuzzi tub).

We celebrated the evening at Spiced Pear, the hotel's restaurant. We were a little skeptical after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and we also have friends who'd had a bad experience last year. However, it cou'd not have been better. We ordered the kobe filet for two which was carved tableside. The chef even came over to our table to greet us and congratulate us on our anniversary.

After dinner, a butler drawn bath with candles and rose petals was waiting for us in our room. We thought this was a special service for our anniverary but we later found out this a service offered to all guests - so impressive!

We called our friends who had not had a good experience last year (they live in Newport) and raved about our time at The Chanler. They came in for dinner last week and were also very impressed while the food, service and overall experience. We plan to all meet here over the holidays. I can't wait!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2005

I stayed at the Chanler and loved it. As an avid traveler who has been to many hotels, this is far and away one of the best. I love the location (over looking the Ocean), the service (stellar) and the restaurant (delicious beyond compare). I look forward to returning. Oh, and don't forget to do the Cliff Walk which is just out the back door of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.9 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#8 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chanler at Cliff Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chanler at Cliff Walk

Property: The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Address: 117 Memorial Boulevard, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#2 Family Hotel in Newport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Chanler at Cliff Walk 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning historic mansion hotel located on the famous Cliff Walk in Newport, Rhode Island. Boasting 20 elegant guestrooms, each custom designed around a particular historical period or theme, this luxury hotel allows breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and Easton’s Beach, setting the mood for a truly relaxing and enjoyable vacation. The award-winning Spiced Pear Restaurant and luxurious in-room spa treatments combine to make this boutique hotel the perfect setting for a romantic retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chanler at Cliff Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chanler At Cliff Walk Hotel Newport
Chanler At Cliff Walk Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing