We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2014

One of my favorite spots in the New England area is Newport RI and staying at the The Chanler just once in your life while visiting Newport is a must. The view from the hotel is gorgeous and while it is a little costly it is well worth it even if you just stay one night it is worth it for the experience. Wish I could go more often.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MZF131422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
There are newer reviews for The Chanler at Cliff Walk
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 768 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2014

We are more the Marriott type with an occasional Hilton or Hyatt thrown in. This was chosen for a special occasion. This was the most expensive one-night accommodation we have ever splurged on. A Garden Villa, with tax, well over $500 for the night (breakfast included). When our 24 hrs or so with The Chanler was complete, we actually felt like it was a good deal. This is not about paying similar amounts for a room at the Waldorf in NYC, where you get the "name" and location and little else. At The Chanler you get a unique room in a refreshed mansion (can't bring myself to call this a hotel). You get a staff that is pleasant and attentive to the highest standard. Not stuffy attentive - cordial, pleasant, and overly accommodating. For example, as other reviewers have stated, their have a wonderful complimentary car service to/from anywhere in Newport. We used it during our stay. Upon checkout, our luggage was loaded into our car. One of the staff asked how we were spending the rest of our day. We responded that we were going into Newport to roam around for a few hours and probably eat dinner before heading home. They suggested, almost insisted, that even though we had checked out that we leave our car there and continue to use their car service throughout the day - which we did. (Note: We were there just before the season started. Car service will be in high-demand and use during season which will cause some delays.) This amenity was the best! We had breakfast in their restaurant, The Spiced Pear, which was excellent. The location takes you just far enough outside of the hustle and bustle of town which is nice to start/end the day. It is located at the very start of Cliff Walk, which means the ocean sits outside your window. Perfect! The room was flawless ... heated tiles in the bathroom, turn-down service (where the bedspread/cushions magically disappear) ... a most comfortable bed, etc. We had a private garden and hot-tub, which brought the day to a very relaxing close. Our only challenge is figuring how we can pull this off annually. Thank you The Chanler for making our special occasion even more special just by being yourself.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seven32009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has one of the best locations in Newport, at the start of the Cliff Walk, with breathtaking ocean views. The property is maintained immaculately, the rooms are all unique and different from each other, the staff is friendly and accommodating. We had our wedding there and everything went absolutely smoothly and wonderfully. The restaurant and the bar have great fine dining menu and excellent ambiance. They have live jazz as well. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NinaIW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We just spent several nights at the Chanler celebrating my mother's birthday. The Chanler is a beautiful mansion with gorgeous views. The location is terrific - perched at the very start of the Cliff Walk. The staff is wonderful. The hotel has a small fleet of SUVs on hand to chauffeur guests around Newport. This is such a great amenity as we never had to worry about calling a cab or parking our own car downtown. We stayed in the Renaissance and the Mediterranean Rooms, both have amazing views. Absolutely worth the splurge to book a higher room category as the Signature Rooms are spacious with the best views. Nice breakfast each morning. Looking forward to a return trip at some point in the future. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Newport.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the Renaissance or Louis rooms. Great views, spacious layouts and really special ba...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DDSmith5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We spent about a week in Newport and ended our wonderful trip at the Chanler for two nights. While it was still a bit cold in April, the temps warmed up a bit and the sun came out by the end of the week. Rain or shine, we would still have enjoyed our time at the Chanler. Everyone were very nice, pleasant, and helpful. The food at the Spiced Pear was excellent - the breakfast, bar menu, and dinner items were all tasty. I recommend the dinner and breakfast package.

We stayed at the Victorian which was on the third floor. The room was beautifully decorated and had views of the bay. The 2-person jacuzzi was big enough for four and was so relaxing after a day of seeing the mansions and walking along the Cliff Walk.

It's a beautiful property and highly recommend a stay to celebrate a special occasion or life in general.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DoubleD1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We attended a wedding here and of course stayed the night. The hotel is charming, good food and a great bar. The décor is beautiful and the atmosphere is very relaxing. A great place to get away for a few days, especially romantic.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drkho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I took my husband here as a surprise for his 40th birthday. The staff and accommodations surpassed my expectations. You truly are treated like royalty here. The staff can't do enough for you. Loved the complimentary chauffeur service and the friendly nature of the staff.
We had a room with a private hot tub outside and an amazing bathroom. Though the room was small, the bed was incredible and the cleanliness of the room was phenomenal.
I truly can't think of anything to complain about and although I live in the area, I am racking my brain for a reason to go back. This place is truly spectacular.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeekendGetawayJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,036 reviews
0.9 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
671 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#7 of 21 in Newport
620 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chanler at Cliff Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chanler at Cliff Walk

Address: 117 Memorial Blvd, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#2 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $442 - $1,059 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Chanler at Cliff Walk 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning historic mansion hotel located on the famous Cliff Walk in Newport, Rhode Island. Boasting 20 elegant guestrooms, each custom designed around a particular historical period or theme, this luxury hotel allows breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and Easton’s Beach, setting the mood for a truly relaxing and enjoyable vacation. The award-winning Spiced Pear Restaurant and luxurious in-room spa treatments combine to make this boutique hotel the perfect setting for a romantic retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Chanler at Cliff Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chanler At Cliff Walk Hotel Newport
Chanler At Cliff Walk Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing