We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Luxury Stay in Newport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Westport, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Luxury Stay in Newport”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We just spent several nights at the Chanler celebrating my mother's birthday. The Chanler is a beautiful mansion with gorgeous views. The location is terrific - perched at the very start of the Cliff Walk. The staff is wonderful. The hotel has a small fleet of SUVs on hand to chauffeur guests around Newport. This is such a great amenity as we never had to worry about calling a cab or parking our own car downtown. We stayed in the Renaissance and the Mediterranean Rooms, both have amazing views. Absolutely worth the splurge to book a higher room category as the Signature Rooms are spacious with the best views. Nice breakfast each morning. Looking forward to a return trip at some point in the future. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Newport.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the Renaissance or Louis rooms. Great views, spacious layouts and really special ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DDSmith5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    67
    28
    16
    17
See reviews for
80
531
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We spent about a week in Newport and ended our wonderful trip at the Chanler for two nights. While it was still a bit cold in April, the temps warmed up a bit and the sun came out by the end of the week. Rain or shine, we would still have enjoyed our time at the Chanler. Everyone were very nice, pleasant, and helpful. The food at the Spiced Pear was excellent - the breakfast, bar menu, and dinner items were all tasty. I recommend the dinner and breakfast package.

We stayed at the Victorian which was on the third floor. The room was beautifully decorated and had views of the bay. The 2-person jacuzzi was big enough for four and was so relaxing after a day of seeing the mansions and walking along the Cliff Walk.

It's a beautiful property and highly recommend a stay to celebrate a special occasion or life in general.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DoubleD1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We attended a wedding here and of course stayed the night. The hotel is charming, good food and a great bar. The décor is beautiful and the atmosphere is very relaxing. A great place to get away for a few days, especially romantic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drkho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, RI
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I took my husband here as a surprise for his 40th birthday. The staff and accommodations surpassed my expectations. You truly are treated like royalty here. The staff can't do enough for you. Loved the complimentary chauffeur service and the friendly nature of the staff.
We had a room with a private hot tub outside and an amazing bathroom. Though the room was small, the bed was incredible and the cleanliness of the room was phenomenal.
I truly can't think of anything to complain about and although I live in the area, I am racking my brain for a reason to go back. This place is truly spectacular.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeekendGetawayJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We actually had a reservation at another property for our anniversary but they had a fire the day of our arrival. One of the staff members called over to The Chandler and found us a room. Julie at the front was so very helpful. She really made sure our stay was special.

We had a villa. There were no water views but the room did have a private hot tub outside. The room was beautiful and the bed was very comfortable. They also have a car service to being you into town and pick you up.

We also enjoyed the bar and talking to the other guests.. We had 2 great bartenders named Maurice and Teddy. Exceptional service.
There was a fire pit outside overlooking the ocean which was amazing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

So happy I made reservations here for a weekend. Not only a stunning view and a beautiful hotel,the staff is unbelievably accommodating and friendly. The hotel offers complimentary rides, very welcome service when you don't know the area well. Used this service to go and come back from dinner. Much appreciated. The room was very clean (I am BIG time fussy) very comfortable. The bathroom has a heated tile floor (winter) a four head shower, ahhh. The view is fabulous. Wish I had been here during warm weather to have breakfast on the beautiful veranda. I highly recommend staying here. I will be back.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank sher777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our 2nd trip here last weekend, to celebrate our anniversary. We had our 1st experience here 2 years ago for our honeymoon. During this visit, we enjoyed the Empire Room, prior visit was the Gothic Room. Both were wonderful. Décor is incredible, down to the most minute details. Empire Room is a much brighter room with a view of the ocean, though part of that view is of a rooftop, but it's still lovely. You will hear some white noise from the roof vent, but I actually find that soothing. You may notice some road noise on this side of the hotel (from the Blvd), but a pair of earplugs solved that. The room was plenty of space for two, with a large bathroom with shower/toilet/bidet/large vanity. A separate jet tub in the parlor area that was truly large enough for 2 & wonderful. Fireplace and wet bar at foot of bed added a nice touch. Complimentary bottled water and mini-fridge was appreciated. Service by hotel staff is top notch. Staff will always greet you with a smile and a desire to help. We enjoyed the complimentary driver service, to go into town to eat/shop. It is very nice to have a nice lounge and full dining room available on site, as well as the outdoor fire pit. The fire pit is gas or propane, so you do not smell like a campfire, and they'll bring blankets to guests! It is very convenient to be on the cliff walk if you want to exercise (there is no fitness facility). If you plan to walk in town, you will to either have a car or request the complimentary driver service. First Beach (which is what the hotel overlooks) has surfers all day long, so it's fun to watch them. Not sure I'd enjoy swimming here myself in the summer though as it has a lot of seaweed wash up, and reports are it naturally is subject to red algae. Wi fi worked fine. My only suggestion would be to add music channels/Sirius Radio to the cable tv lineup, as the only option for music I found was the small clock radio. Hotel dining room (Spiced Pear) is a separate review.

Room Tip: Ask if the room has a split floor/drop. The Gothic room did have the bathroom set up that way, and I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
646 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,014 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
591 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.8 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#6 of 21 in Newport
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chanler at Cliff Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chanler at Cliff Walk

Property: The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Address: 117 Memorial Blvd, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#2 Family Hotel in Newport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Chanler at Cliff Walk 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning historic mansion hotel located on the famous Cliff Walk in Newport, Rhode Island. Boasting 20 elegant guestrooms, each custom designed around a particular historical period or theme, this luxury hotel allows breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and Easton’s Beach, setting the mood for a truly relaxing and enjoyable vacation. The award-winning Spiced Pear Restaurant and luxurious in-room spa treatments combine to make this boutique hotel the perfect setting for a romantic retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Chanler at Cliff Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chanler At Cliff Walk Hotel Newport
Chanler At Cliff Walk Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing