We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best couples getaway in New England” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chanler at Cliff Walk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best couples getaway in New England”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Chanler is a fantastic place to get away - consistently excellent service, beautiful rooms, fantastic food and drink. Truly worth the money - we would rather spend two nights here than a week anywhere else. A relaxing and enjoyable experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    58
    24
    14
    16
See reviews for
63
453
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bristol, ct
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Went for New Years weekend, what a pleasure!!!!! The hotel is expensive but for once you actually get what you paid for! From the time you arrive you are treated like you are their only occupant. From the doorman to the room staff and especially the young ladies at the desk, nothing is overlooked or taken for granted! The rooms are meticulous and the food at the Spiced Pear is impeccable! Best hotel we have stayed at, deserving of a five star rating!

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank oppy06010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at The Chanler at Cliff Walk. The location is perfect overlooking the Atlantic and the coastline. It is easily walkable to Bellevue Avenue and to shops, but if you don't want to walk, the complimentary driving service is perfect. The staff went above and beyond to accommodate our needs, even delivering food to our room on Christmas night when we decided to stay in for the night. Breakfast was excellent each morning and the only difficult part was deciding what to order. We stayed for three days and would recommend this mansion to anyone planning to visit Newport.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bloodworthla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Just returned home from spending Christmas at the Chandler. Simply a fantastic experience and the perfect way to spend a stress free holiday! The property is gorgeous and if you truly want to experience the best Newport has to offer than a visit to the Chandler is a must.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank gerri20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

My girlfriend Autumn and I were up in CT for a friend's wedding and we planned a little side trip to New Port, R.I. the week of Thanksgiving. We booked the Chanler at Cliff Walk after checking out their website, photos, and reviews. I decided to propose to Autumn at the Chanler because of it's elegance and location. Everybody on staff there along with my best man, was extremely helpful in helping me pull off an amazing engagement. Our room, the Louis XVI, was one of the best we've ever stayed in and the view was incredible! I spent over a week speaking with Laura at the Spiced Pear Restaurant and Christine, the general manager about my plans to propose and they really pulled through for me and made it a success. They went above and beyond for me and I can't thank them enough for everything! Autumn was so surprised and we both were so impressed with the guest service at the Chanler. The food was also great and just added to the whole experience. We couldn't be happier with how our stay went and can't wait to visit again!

Room Tip: Louis XVI room has an amazing view of the ocean and a great balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Just spent a night at the Chanler and it was a much needed break from the stress of the holidays. This property DOES NOT disappoint. We stayed in Briar Rose and loved our private court yard and hot tub. The bed is extremely comfortable and I loved the linens so much I made note of the brand before I left. The staff is extremely accommodating, paying special attention to my down feather allergy without making me sacrifice comfort (extremely rare). The historic location speaks for itself. Overall, I will definitely return!

Room Tip: We loved Briar Rose (part of the Garden Villas) because of it's private courtyard and because it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nycjetsetter13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
135 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

This property is absolutely stunning starting with the location at the beginning of the Cliff Walk in Newport. We were two separate parties and stayed in two separate rooms both of which were elegantly appointed, almost too elegantly appointed. It was fabulous for a cozy weekend in the winter complete with fireplaces and heated floor tiles in the bath. I have wanted to stay at The Chanler for a long time and this was a special treat. But, I'm not certain I would go back again given that it was just a tad stuffy and a little bit pretentious. The service was fine, not fabulous. The rooms, as elegant as they are, offer little in the way of storage space so in the manor house they would not necessarily be good for more than a day or two since you basically have to live out of your suitcase. The cottages may be more suitable for a longer stay but we did not see those. Also, we felt that the property was not a good place to be in the summer as we couldn't imagine coming back from the beach all sandy and then going into the rooms full of Oriental carpets and richly upholstered furniture. It was worth the experience but there are other properties in Rhode Island that are equally outstanding in terms of location with superior service and comfort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anon3200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#10 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
0.9 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#9 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chanler at Cliff Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chanler at Cliff Walk

Property: The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Address: 117 Memorial Boulevard, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#2 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Chanler at Cliff Walk 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning historic mansion hotel located on the famous Cliff Walk in Newport, Rhode Island. Boasting 20 elegant guestrooms, each custom designed around a particular historical period or theme, this luxury hotel allows breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and Easton’s Beach, setting the mood for a truly relaxing and enjoyable vacation. The award-winning Spiced Pear Restaurant and luxurious in-room spa treatments combine to make this boutique hotel the perfect setting for a romantic retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Chanler at Cliff Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chanler At Cliff Walk Hotel Newport
Chanler At Cliff Walk Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing